Pets and Animals

How to Care for a Human: A Cat’s Tail

It’s difficult, but it’s worth it.

Jennifer Lee
Catness
Published in
18 min readJul 19, 2021

--

CC and Twinkie (Photo by author)

It can be very difficult and frustrating to take care of a human. But I have risen to the challenge. I've been taking care of my human since I was three months old. I just had my tenth purrthday. So I consider myself an expurrt.

Before I go any further, let me introduce myself. My name is CC - short for Cookies and Cream. I am a black-and-white "cow cat", meaning that instead of a tuxedo pattern, I have random black spots on a white coat. My human (she calls herself Meowmy) likes to name her feline caretakers after sweet treats. Mmm, treats!

"Meow!" Human, I want treats!

Meowmy, who had been trying to sleep, turns her head. "Hi, sweets!"

"Mrrow!" Human, treats! The language barrier is definitely one of the most aggravating issues in a cat-human relationship. I start pawing her arm, hoping that will work.

It does not. "Hi, purrty girl!" she coos as she scritches my chin and the top of my head.

I begin to purr. I can’t help myself. "Mew." That feels so good. "Meow!" But I want treats right meow!

I go to the entrance to the kitchen and speak again, hoping she will take the hint.

--

--

Jennifer Lee
Catness

"They said, 'Don't try to change the world, you're just a girl.'" Unapologetically for all that is right and just. "Here, right matters." - Lt. Col. Vindman