Housecats and Community Cats

If I Were a [Stray] Cat

I would love to prowl the neighborhood, if only for a day

Randy Runtsch
Catness
Published in
3 min readApr 25, 2024

--

The author found this distinctive cat wandering the streets of Decatur, Georgia. © Randy Runtsch.

I don’t bother chasing mice around
I slink down the alley, looking for a fight
Howling to the moonlight on a hot summer night

- Lines from the song “Stray Cat Strut” by the Stray Cats, with lyrics by Brian Setzer

We humans apply the term housecat to the domesticated cat for good reasons. We intend to keep our feline friends in our houses to protect them from the world’s dangers. But we also keep them indoors to protect the natural world from them.

Except for short, fully supervised forays into the wild outdoors, I keep my beloved Little Miss Muffin indoors. I would be distraught if she were to be lost, harmed, or killed out in the big wide world.

Little Miss Muffin is an indoor house cat. © Randy Runtsch.

I don’t bemoan the fact that some people choose to let their cats wander outdoors. They have built-in survival instincts, sharp claws and teeth, fast legs, and keen senses to help them survive.

Even though house cats are bred to live indoors, they might survive outdoors long-term by developing skills…

--

--

Randy Runtsch
Catness

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer