If My Cats Could Write a Review

They’d tell you what they think of the cat food I bought

srstowers
Catness

--

Image by Luisella Planeta Leoni from Pixabay

I’ve been supplementing my cats’ diet with canned cat food. A couple of them were too skinny, so I wanted to put a little weight on them. The canned food helped tremendously. My boys are looking good.

I would like to tell you I buy a really good brand for my babies, but I don’t. They get Friskies. I’ve bought more expensive brands, and they don’t like them. If my cats were human, they’d choose fast food over gourmet any day.

But yesterday, I had to buy 9 Lives because Dollar General seems to be having supply issues, especially in the pet aisle.

My cats have never taken so long to eat their canned food as they did today. If they could write a review, I think it would sound something like this:

9 Lives Gravy Lovers claims to have “hearty cuts,” but what it actually has is shreds of meat that clump together like poorly cooked pasta. The gravy is good, nice and thick. But once you’ve licked off all the gravy, what you have left is meat that isn’t trying hard enough. It’s edible, but it’s not worth eating all in one sitting. This is meat you can walk away from.

I bought a whole box — 12 cans in all. That’s three days’ worth of canned food because they have somehow suckered me into giving them two cans for breakfast and two cans for supper. Lunch is dry kibble, as is midnight snack.

And now I know how they feel about 9 Lives. Basically, it’ll do if it’s the only option. They prefer it to the more expensive brands, but it’s not something they’re going to crave.

Here’s how to tip the author

--

--

srstowers
Catness

high school English teacher, cat nerd, owner of Grading with Crayon, and author of Biddleborn.