KitKat Decided to Try to Perform Surgery on Himself…

Kat Brancato
Catness
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2024

--

“Mum…you are sooo over reacting…” KitKat Image by Author

So, I try to keep my posts about KitKat fun and upbeat, although this poor kitty has had a long haul of health problems we have been battling. I’m not going into the nitty-gritty details of it all because, honestly, it would be the length of a novella, but this morning was too wild not to share.

I have to give a super brief backstory about the issue at hand, though.

When I adopted my baby, he was sick with Bartonella, and his teeth were so abscessed they had to be removed. His lymph nodes were the size of quarters; one went back to normal, and the other shrank and stayed the size of a dime and hard. This has been going on for six years.

Last November, that side of his neck at the lymph node swelled up super fast to the size of half a baseball. I freaked out, of course, and got him to the vet. They gave him a shot of antibiotics, and it shrank back down.

Thank goodness, I thought.

Then January came, and it did it again. Back to the doc for another shot, but it didn’t really work. So, he went on liquid antibiotics, which he would hold in his mouth until it all drooled out.

Back to the drawing board.

He was put on a pill form antibiotic and within a week it started to shrink. He was even…

--

--

Kat Brancato
Catness

Kat Brancato is a Lifestyle Writer for hire. She has been featured in the Real Simple, Better Homes & Gardens, and Parents. Check out www.katbrancato.com