Life With Harmony: The Beginning

Kathy Minicozzi
Catness
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2023

--

Photo courtesy of the author

She’s intelligent and funny with a streak of mischief. She’s a beauty and the sovereign of all she surveys.

Her name is Harmony, and she’s a cat.

I first met Harmony over 11 years ago. I had recently lost my beloved brown tabby tomcat, Oliver, and wanted to adopt a new kitty. My friend Michelle and I headed for the New York City ASPCA. Michelle had promised to come along and help me choose a new feline baby. We might have reconsidered our plans if we had known what was in store for us.

Harmony’s cage was the first one we saw when the young woman volunteer brought us to the back room, where they kept cats. The kitty was beautiful, with lively, intelligent eyes that were avidly studying everything around it. Michelle spotted it first:

“There’s another brown tabby.”

“Yes, I see.”

I wanted to look at all the cats, so I wandered around a little. A friendly tomcat approached me when I went up to his cage. The volunteer also took a shy female out of her cage to show her to me. In the meantime, Michelle was still urging me to look at the brown tabby, so I asked the volunteer to show the kitty to me.

The young woman took the kitty out of the cage and held it so I could see it better. She told us the kitty’s name was Harmony. Harmony was biting…

--

--

Kathy Minicozzi
Catness

I am a former opera singer who is now trying to be a writer. I'm harmless. I write for MuddyUm, Bouncin' and Behavin' Blogs, Crow's Feet, and Funny, Inc.