LITTLE LIONESS

Patricia O'Neill
Catness
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2024
Image by Author.

(The lighter fur on Tilly’s side shows where she was shaven).

Going back some months my 14 year old cat, Tilly, who has arthritis had stiffness in her neck which made it difficult for her to groom herself properly. On top of that I hurt my back early last year which makes it somewhat hard for me to help her.

Her hair became so matted
It really was a mess
I found it hard to help her
My little lioness.

In November I managed to get an appointment for her with a groomer. The groomer’s husband collected the cat. I then received a text from the groomer saying Tilly’s winter coat coming through was very matted and the only realistic remedy was a lion cut. I said for the lady to do what she thought was appropriate.

So when she was dropped off back home Tilly was some weight (in fur) lighter. She really did look something like a little lioness. A bit like a tonsure only on her sides. I was worried that she might be susceptible to cold. I haven’t made her a coat as yet though I tried to make warm bedding available. I didn’t photograph her at the time. Of course since then the spring has rolled around.

If anyone has read the A Song of Ice and Fire books they may recall that a character called Cersei Lannister says that hair regrows. Fur likewise grows back. Tilly’s fur is almost regrown now though the tabby stripes aren’t showing on her coat yet. I’m endeavouring to have her groomed professionally every two months or so henceforth.

Today is a public holiday in the UK. The weather turned rainy in the afternoon so Tilly has come inside and is sleeping. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that she will not need to sport the lion cut again.

--

--

Patricia O'Neill
Catness

I'm a retired secretary. I've enjoyed writing as a hobby since childhood and decided to try my luck on Medium. Looking out for side hustles :).