Living With a Cat Who Has Separation Anxiety

My cat relives his trauma every time I go away

L.A. Strucke
Catness

--

Rumi Photo Credit: L.A. Strucke

If it were up to my cat Rumi, I would never leave the house. You see, I am Rumi’s entire world.

In the morning I awaken to him walking on top of me, and positioning himself on the pillow next to my head.

He follows me around like my little shadow. I can’t even enter the restroom without him trying to get in. And when he can’t get in, he patiently waits outside the door until I come out.

Often I will be busy writing or cleaning up the house, or even sleeping, and I will hear Rumi meowing forlornly in the house.

At this point, I will have to call out to him in response. Then he’ll come running to me and snuggle into my lap, purring.

When I come home after being out, he runs to greet me and then rolls around the rug in happiness.

And then I go away

My boy Rumi is a sweet cat. He doesn’t claw up my furniture and uses his litter box. But then I go away.

It could be a short trip or a long one. Rumi hates it. The rare occasions he’s sprayed outside his box have been when I’ve been away.

--

--

L.A. Strucke
Catness

Top Writer, Songwriter. Published in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Highlights for Children and Guideposts. Editor of The Creative Project.