My Pet Human and My Feline Family

My cats mean everything to me.

Mark Scofield
Catness

--

My cats Ryan and Rayne. (Photo by author).

I have been struggling with employment issues for some time.

Just over two years ago, I adopted the two most wonderful beings to ever grace the Earth with their presence: my kittens Ryan and Rayne.

They have stuck with me through the hard times. They, more than any living human being, have taught me what love is. We have built our relationships and have a strong and loving family.

One human relative says that I am too poor, an unfit parent, and need to get rid of my “pets” He also says that because I have been unemployed, I am mentally unstable and in need of medical treatment.

It is ironic because just a few short years ago he was the one who was long-term unemployed while I was the one with stable employment.

I should have asked him then to abandon his wife.

The only person I am sure provided him with the emotional support he needed to get through that trauma. My cats are more human, more loving and possess greater understanding of life at 2 years old than my cousin does at 53 years of age.

--

--

Mark Scofield
Catness
Writer for

Coming out of the shadows. No more pseudonym. Humans are designed to fail. I'm Exhibit A. Often writing semi-fictional history and autobiographical stories.