Priorities in This Home

The cats know where they rank

Lyndz Cay
Catness
3 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

Face of orange tabby cat with half closed eyes, resting on white paws
Jonesy chilling and wishing I wasn’t taking a photo. Photo by author.

Last year, I got a new job. Slightly better pay, but more importantly, it was outside the city. This meant I could get more for my money and afford an upgrade. In October, we moved to a one-bedroom more than twice the size of our previous studio.

My tiny studio had enough room for my papasan, but not a couch. With the new apartment, there was plenty of room for furniture. Within a month, I’d made my first major furniture purchase.

A cat tree.

With my boys being so young, I was dying to get them a cat tree. I thought they’d love to climb to the top and peer out and around. I was happy to be proven right. The cat tree was an immediate hit, with both boys content to find their napping spots on the high platforms. Since the tree is taller than I am, the uppermost cat gets to look down on me.

As all cats dream of doing to their owners.

Full photo of cats in the cat tree. Goose can’t even be bothered to look down upon me. Photo by author.

It took me over three months to get a new loveseat.

My first shopping forays were a great disappointment. I insist on microfiber couches because I’ve never had a cat scratch them. I found almost no such thing for sale. On top of that, the first stores I went to had ridiculous prices. I feared I’d have to spend $1000 to get a decent couch.

Fortunately, when I visited another area, I found both reasonable prices and a faux-leatherish microfiber loveseat in a beautiful color. Mischief managed, I set up for a delivery a few weeks later.

My cats have yet to turn two years old. In their short lives, they have never experienced anything like a couch. I wondered what they would think.

After the initial terror of this giant new thing, they decided they were unimpressed. They occasionally spend time on it, but it’s not their favorite place. Jonesy seems happy to have an opportunity to sleep on me during the day (he loves to cuddle at night).

Jonesy is happy for his new snuggle spot. Photo by author.

Putting a blanket on the loveseat also makes it more appealing to the fur fam. Regardless, I’m happy we all have our new furniture.

Annoyed orange and white tabby cat laying on a green, red, and white tree blanket on a dark brown loveseat.
Jonesy is not happy about all the photos. “Leave me alone, Mom!” Photo by author.

Even if my furniture priorities put me firmly at the bottom of the family ladder.

--

--

Lyndz Cay
Catness

Animal behavior, training, and welfare professional. Cat fanatic. Repository of useless facts.