Seven Weird and WondrousThings I Do Because I’m A Cat Mom

The cats are worth all of it

Nancy Parish
Catness

--

Scout on box / Photo courtesy of Author

Being a cat mom has been a life-long endeavor of mine. I love cats. We have a symbiotic relationship that I cannot explain. They tolerate me. I adore and therefore lavish attention on them.

Through the years, I’ve realized that I often consider how my cats will react before I make decisions or do some of the things I do.

1. I leave the television on so that my blind cat won’t freak out.

If I leave for just a few hours, I often leave my television on so my cats won’t get bored. I work from home and sometimes keep the television on for the background noise. I think my cats have gotten used to the sound so I leave it on so they won’t get bored and so they miss me less.

I mainly do this for Scout. She’s blind and although I tell her when I’m leaving, I worry she’ll look for me and get scared when she can’t find me. So the television stays on.

2. I have a plan for them before I go out at night.

When I go out for dinner or to meet friends, I always leave a light on for my cats. I read somewhere that although cats can see better than humans at night, they can’t see everything in…

--

--

Nancy Parish
Catness

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/