Tubby cat. Computer art by Louise Peacock

SOME STORIES ABOUT CATS I LIKE

Patricia O'Neill
Catness
Published in
3 min readJun 20, 2024

--

There are stories on Catness I have read and enjoyed but here are a few others I like:-

  1. I periodically dip into the Shoo Rayner drawing channel. He is a children’s author and illustrator (does the pictures for his own books). The majority of his videos are tips and tricks about drawing. However he has a series about ‘The Scaredy Cats Club’. Some cats friends meet together and tell each other scarey stories (reworking of grimdark/horror stories but with a cat centred theme). I watched the author read one about ‘Bluebeard’s Cat’ described as a funny, scary story for children. I thought it was an original idea though perhaps somewhat on the frightening side. But then I remember being absorbed by some of the Brothers Grimm stories when they were read to us at school — and they were frightening.
  2. The Simon’s Cat cartoon channel written and drawn by English animator, Simon Tofield, is inspired by Simon’s own cats. The cat who doesn’t have a specific name is a large white kitty and he and his frenemy, the kitten, get up to all sorts of high jinks.
  3. They are out of print now but as a child I quite liked the Mr Twink of books by Freda Hurt. Mr Twink is black cat who solves mysteries. The mysteries are ones which would be interesting to children. I don’t remember the details of the stories but one was something about whether a lady mutated into a cat or not at night. There was a logical explanation if I recall rightly but not sure what it was. I had a look on some of the secondhand book sites and these books are retailing for as much as £70.
  4. Undercover Cat by the Gordons filmed as That Darn Cat starring Hayley Mills when she was a teenager. The film was remade in the 1990s but I didn’t see that adaptation. A kidnapped bank employee puts her watch around the leg of TC, an inquisitive cat who comes into the apartment where she is being held. TC is owned by two sisters one of whom was played by Hayley Mills. Her character realises the watch belongs to the missing woman and reports the fact to the authorities. The FBI become involved and watch TC in his night-time rambles with the aim of finding the kidnap victim. To say anymore would be to spoil the story. I liked it when I was 16.
  5. The Midnight Louie mysteries by Carole Nelson Douglas. Pussy cat Midnight Louie and as he calls her his roommate, Temple Barr (female), put their talents to work solving mysteries. Some parts of the stories are told from a human viewpoint and some from a feline. Temple of course never realises that Louie is putting in the legwork and nudging her towards clues.

Have you any cat books or series that you like. Do let me know if I’ve missed your favourite(s). It will be great fun comparing notes.

--

--

Patricia O'Neill
Catness

I'm a retired secretary. I've enjoyed writing as a hobby since childhood and decided to try my luck on Medium. Looking out for side hustles :).