The Man Who Mistook His Cat for a Hat

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Catness
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2024

--

I never fail to be surprised when I see him.

Photo by AUTHORt

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales (Summit Books 1985) is a thought provoking exploration of the human mind and the many ways it can be altered by neurological conditions.

I’ve not been diagnosed with any such challenges and perhaps my story should better be named The Man Who Mistook His Mother’s Cat for a Cat!

Her Cat

My father predeceased my mother by 18 years and every one of those years she made her traditional summertime pilgrimage to her cottage on Willoughby Lake, Vermont.

My brother and I with families of our own would always visit for a couple of weeks with wives and kids. Work and family obligations prohibited more time spent.

Our families: my brother’s living in North Jersey, mine in Philadelphia always had cats. The kids loved ’em and I must admit I was attracted to the feline species also.

Are these traits inherited?

I was wisely advised to leave any cat living with us at the time back in our respective houses in Jersey and Pennsylvanaia. The beautiful green forests surrounding the cottage was home to creatures that would love nothing more than to snack on a domestic kitty.

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Catness

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.