THIS KITTY’S WORK

Patricia O'Neill
Catness
Published in
2 min readFeb 29, 2024
Tilly having her beauty sleep (lighting not good, sorry)

Hello, Tilly here. I have my life reasonably well organised. I wake up Patricia (she sometimes gets called Pat or Patsy) in the morning to feed me — and I might add she sometimes takes her sweet time about it, then I go out in the garden for my constitutional, then back in for a nap. It’s basically a rotation of those things though if the weather is pleasant and not damp and miserable like today I might have a snooze outdoors. I do allow her to stroke and pet me sometimes if I’m in the mood.

Patricia doesn’t really like me telling people this but we have some unwanted visitors, namely mice. I heard Patricia saying something about having the same problem several years ago when someone from the Council came and solved the problem. I heard her chuntering about it’s going to cost money and she’s not made of the darn stuff. I’m not sure what money is. The cat flap came to the end of its useful existence so at the moment there is just a hole in the door like a “gatera” though the servant does block it off at night. It needs replacing properly because a hole in the door doesn’t stop the creature known as Mus, does it? I’ve a notion the servant is going to stock up on Polyfilla.*

I have noticed my servant making an effort to catch up on housework since she realised I’m not the only other creature in the house besides her.

Here’s where she’s inconsistent. When I’ve brought in mice from the garden she tells me off. Now I get the feeling she doesn’t mind me scaring mice. I wish she’d make her mind up. What! She wants me to work. Surely the pleasure and honour of my company suffices.

Well, I think it’s nap-time now. I’m not planning on working at this very moment. I’m sure Patricia will let you know the eventual outcome of this problem — though it may be something you don’t want to hear about.

Have a nice** day and those of you with cats look after them well.

* I don’t know if it sold in other countries but in the UK Polyfilla is the brand name of a substance used to fill holes in skirting boards and walls etc.

** ….and I did say “nice” not “mice”.

--

--

Patricia O'Neill
Catness

I'm a retired secretary. I've enjoyed writing as a hobby since childhood and decided to try my luck on Medium. Looking out for side hustles :).