When Cats Hand You Lemons

You take the opportunity!

Lyndz Cay
Catness
2 min readJan 29, 2023

--

Orange tabby looking up above camera
“Who, me?” Goose trying to look innocent. Photo by author.

It all started with a scanner and some documents.

As one does when one needs to scan documents, I flipped open the scanner. I turned to grab my papers and immediately heard a light thump. I looked back to see Goose, who, for no reason whatsoever, had decided this was the perfect moment to check out the scanner. He sniffed it for a bit, sat down on the scanning surface, and looked at me.

Dude! Not helpful!

But then, that’s in his nature.

As I debated how to get him off the scanner with minimal guilt to myself, something popped into my mind. I remembered the Christmas party scene from the movie “Scrooged.” With Goose safely looking at me, I hit the scan button. I kept his attention so he wouldn’t look down at the bright light. As a result, I got one of the best pictures of him I’ll ever get.

Cat viewed from underneath — four paws and furry butt in black and white.
Perfection. Photo by author.

Sadly, I had to kick him off the scanner shortly after this. I still had things to get done! And while I hope to never have my scanning interrupted like this again, I am glad for the opportunity to make lemonade.

--

--

Lyndz Cay
Catness

Animal behavior, training, and welfare professional. Cat fanatic. Repository of useless facts.