Don’t wait — you need a better bio right now. Here’s why.

Anita Stubenrauch
cause:effect
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2022

If you’ve been in any corner of the internet this year, you’ve heard the news that the economy is kind of… meh.

Whether we have a recessionary 2023 or not, this feels like one of those moments where it makes sense to have your CV in order, right?

But you need more than a CV — you need a story. Your story.

In a professional context, the purpose of your bios story is to spark curiosity and inspire connection so that you can attract the kinds of people and opportunities to you that you want. And at moments like these, spending the time to craft your story is also an opportunity to take stock of things in a way that you likely don’t on a day-to-day (or even job-to-job) basis. Ask yourself:

  • Putting aside “typical” professional accomplishments like awards and certifications, what do I want future employers and colleagues to really know about me? What am I proud of?
  • What kinds of people do I want to attract with my bio? What values or principles do we have in common? How can I signal those?
  • What isn’t a part of my story yet that I’d like to be in the future? What if I could write that into being?

Questions like these help take you from an informational, average bio to an inspiring one. From finding “just a job” to finding opportunities that align with what matters to you.

This is why I run Build-a-Bio.

Build-a-Bio is my online learning series where I walk you through this critical work with exercises, workshops, coaching, and cases studies that support your journey to authentically express yourself.

I’m a little biased, I admit, but I don’t recommend going into 2023 without having Build-a-Bio under your belt. Or at the very least, a better bio. The economy is gonna do what it’s gonna do. But you can do something too.

The next cohort is starting soon! Learn more here.

Anita Stubenrauch is an ex-Apple creative and the founder of Cause:Effect Creative, an agency that helps brands express visionary ideas with poetic power.

--

--