James Eder
Causr
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2017

--

Manufacturing Serendipity Never Ski Alone

The Slopes in Tignes, France

During my year between school and University I had a dream that I’d love to spend 5 months in the Alps skiing as much as possible — I applied for various positions and landed a job for a company called Equity Ski. In early December, we got the coach down to the Alps from Brighton. As the snow and first guests arrived we quickly got into the routine.

One of the challenges about doing the ski season and the ways rota’s worked were that you often skied alone. For the first part of the season I’d often be sitting on the lifts by myself thinking what I should say to break the ice but not being sure.

It then dawned on me, what’s the worst thing that can happen. We already know we have something in common as we’re on the slopes already so I came up with my generic one liners to include:

What’s the snow like on this part of the mountain?

Have you skied in this area today?

Do you know if xxx lift is open today?

Once I had my list of questions it was easy to break the ice. This is made easier due to one of the pillars of Causr — context.

The conversations often led into sharing that I was doing a Ski season which meant often skiing alone. We then skied together for a few runs before we went our separate ways and so the process started again.

A Friend, Amanda I met on the chairlift re-united on a slopes by chance in the same resort just over a year later.

To help people connect on the slopes we’ve created a Ski Club GB group feel free to join others passionate and interested in Skiing at home or abroad https://goo.gl/SiHQFc

If you’d like a group for your community complete the form and we’ll be in touch: Click here for the form.

Causr is a location-based app that introduces its users to others within the local area. It makes finding nearby professionals with similar jobs, interests and ambitions easy. Scroll through a network of users, see who’s free, meet for coffee, share business advice or simply connect. Causr plans those chances encounters, and makes missed opportunities a thing of the past.

Download the App to see who’s nearby and start connecting today. Now available on the Apple App Store. Pre-register for our Android release here.

--

--