What’s stopping you from joining the dots?

James Eder
Causr
Published in
3 min readOct 30, 2017
Business Cards Exchange Founders James & Dennis meet by chance at Joe & The Juice

On arrival in San Francisco whilst waiting for the fog to clear this morning I walked around the city then settled in at Joe & The Juice on Market street to have a smoothie and do some planning for the week.

I sat down and was surrounded by a handful of people on their laptops. This led to my mind whirring as to who is sitting where and what they’re up to.

I clocked again a screen full of code. Is my technical co-founder once again sitting next to me? Pillar no. 1 stopped me in my tracks — I felt like I didn’t have permission to interrupt and say anything and I stopped myself. However, I had the context to reach out.

“Do you mind if I ask a question as I saw the code on your screen? “

Pillar no. 3 played it’s role having seen the code. I got an instant friendly response sure.

As I introduced myself and explained that I travelled from London. He said so was he. His name is Dennis and he is the Co-Founder and CTO of Flexciton. I explained that I was here for the Lean Startup week and I was trying to find a technical co-founder and what I was doing.

He shared that he had been at a conference as well for the last few days. How hard it was to meet the most relevant people — with over 4000 attendees at that event. He had been keen to meet up with other founders when he was in the city but just hadn’t been able to which was really frustrating. When I showed him Causr he couldn’t believe it and said it would be so useful if we were able to scale it and get more users on board.

As he continued to share it turns out he was part of the Entrepreneur First community and asked if I knew about them. To join the dots I had a meeting with one of the founders Matt and briefly caught up with Alice just in the last week at their offices. On the App one of the opportunities is connecting people from the same community so I showed him the Entrepreneur First group. It was such a coincidence.

Of course, the person I had chosen to speak to turned out to live in London. Unfortunately, not my Co-Founder or CTO, but he was a fellow Co-Founder and CTO.

People say I’m lucky with who I meet, I don’t believe in luck but the more I reach out to people the luckier I get.

The vision for Causr is for anyone around the world to open up themselves to the possibilities to connect with like-minded people nearby. If you own or manage a coffee shop or venue and you’d like to get involved feel free to get in touch.

Who will you meet today?

Causr is a location-based app that introduces its users to others within the local area. It makes finding nearby professionals with similar jobs, interests and ambitions easy. Scroll through a network of users, see who’s free, meet for coffee, share business advice or simply connect. Causr plans those chances encounters, and makes missed opportunities a thing of the past.

Download the App to see who’s nearby and start connecting today. Now available on the Apple App Store & Google Play Store.

--

--