Kerrilynn Pamer’s Pantry

Caviar
8 min readMar 26, 2021

By Pineapple Collaborative

We team up with Pineapple Collaborative on our Women-Powered collection and digital programming to highlight women who are redefining the food industry. The Pantry is a series produced by Pineapple that lets readers peek into the kitchen of these incredible women while sharing their favorite products, current must-orders from women-led restaurants and even their favorite tunes to jam out while cooking/eating. Check out Kerrilynn Pamer’s interview below.

CAP Beauty Co-Founder Kerrilynn Pamer cares deeply — exhaustively, even — about what’s in her kitchen. Prepare yourself for one of our most extensive pantry tours to date, with 78 total pantry recommendations (if you include the label maker, which Kerrilynn insists we must). In her Calabasas pantry, small-batch staples like black garlic concentrate, coconut butter, lacto-fermented hot sauce, and preserved lemon paste are omnipresent; ditto to anything you’d find on the shelves at Cookbook Market (pantry canon for anyone living near LA). In collaboration with Caviar, we asked the High Vibrational Beauty co-author to indulge us in some kitchen voyeurism and talk about expanding her definition of “health” beyond leafy greens and caloric deficits.

Her Style

  • How do you find inspiration in the kitchen? I eat to make myself feel good, and also to soothe myself, so whatever ends up on my plate should check at least one box. Hopefully both.
  • Which item in your pantry do you most identify with? I’d have to say salt, I add it to everything, and don’t really know what I’d do without it.
  • What’s the first thing you remember cooking? I don’t know if it was really cooking but I was very into making “dough” when I was little and adding food coloring (this was the 70’s!) and plants to make some type of baked good that was entirely inedible. I’ve come a long way since then.
  • If a stranger looked in your pantry, what would it say about you? She loves a P-Touch Label Maker.
  • What’s your favorite dish to order from Pineapple Collaborative’s Women-Powered Collection on Caviar in Los Angeles? I LOVE the Golden Retriever smoothie and the Grain Bowl from Honey Hi and the Pad Thai from Night + Market SONG. Also, the Lime Leaf Cashews and the Persian Crispy Rice from Kismet.
  • Which women do you #PineFor? (In other words: who inspires you most, both in and out of the kitchen?) Aran Goyoaga (cookbook author behind Canelle et Vanille), Camille Becerra (read Camille’s The Pantry feature here!), Shelley Armistead (of Gjelina Group), Kacie Carter (chef/co-founder of Honey Hi), Caitlin Sullivan (co-founder of Honey Hi), Martha Stewart (the one and only), Amy Chaplin (chef-author of At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen), Deborah Williamson (co-owner of James Kitchen), Lynne Rosetto Kasper (founding host of The Splendid Table), Gabriela Cámara (chef-owner of Contramar, Cala), April Valencia (founder of Masa Memory), and Kat Turner (chef of Highly Likely).

Markets & shopping

I LOVE grocery shopping and have missed frequenting stores this last year, but have thankfully found ways to navigate the strange world we are living in while still getting my shopping fix. Having recently moved to California, our shopping looks a lot different from our East Coast life and we’re still acclimating to the abundance that seems to exist year round here. Since the move, we frequent Malibu Fig Ranch, and also get a box from Kismet which is so bountiful and rich, that it almost brings me to tears everytime I unpack it. We also love to stop at Cookbook Market and Day Glow when we are on the East Side and recently discovered Wine + Eggs which is a great addition to the small, thoughtful and perfectly edited kitchen shop. To think of what the food industry has gone through is incomprehensible and I will gladly spend my dollars to show my appreciation and support even when it’s more expensive and a little less convenient.

Which items do you covet in your fridge?

My hot sauce collection is near and dear to my heart. Favorites are the brilliant lacto-fermented one from my friend Kat of Highly Likely, all the sauces from Szeb, Aardvark from Portland (hometown pride!), and Dark Horse (whose Dijon and Umami Bouillion I also love). June Taylor jams, Los Poblanos Green Chile Jam, all the Honey Mama bars, Zuma Valley Coconut Whipped Cream, Srimu plant-based cheese (the best!), Rhea Liquid Sunshine and The Deep (SO good and coming to CAP soon!), Coco June Elderflower Coconut Yogurt, Fly by Jing Szechuan Chili Crisp, Vegenaise, Cosmic Cultures anything, Kernel of Truth Masa, and Seed + Mill Tahini. My husband is a master fermenter so there’s always something delicious hanging out in the fridge; I’m super into gut health so his ‘kraut is on our table pretty much every meal. But probably my most loved and coveted item is my gluten-free sourdough starter, Gadu. She’s been with us for about two years now, and I love her and all the sustenance and happiness she brings to our home.

Kerrilynn’s Top Picks

RHEA GOODS DAY & NIGHT DUO

DARK HORSE UMAMI POWDER

CAP BEAUTY THE O’CLOCKS

HIGHLY LIKELY HOT SAUCE

WOODEN SPOON SOLAR FLARE TEA

LOS POBLANOS GREEN CHILI JAM

Pantry staples

I make gluten-free sourdough thanks to my brilliant friend Aran of Cannelle et Vanille, so my flours take up a lot of real estate in the cupboards: Authentic Foods Brown Rice Flour and Sorghum Flour, Kismet Goods Buckwheat Flour, plus Psyllium Husk, Tapioca Starch and Potato Starch. Then there’s The Olive Oil (Pineapple’s, of course, plus bottles from Oracle and Wonder Valley), plus The Apple Cider Vinegar and CAP’s Matcha, Coconut Butter, O’Clock powders, and Himalayan Pink Salt. I also love Anson Mills rice, every type of chili you could imagine (I collect them wherever I go), beans from Sun Gold Farms in Oregon, sweet and savory granolas from Highly Likely, Dark Horse Umami Powder, polenta from friend Marjory Sweet, Activist Honey, Tiny but Mighty Popcorn (the best!), all the spices from Burlap and Barrel, and Heilala Vanilla Extract. I always have loads of tea, and am partial to Wooden Spoon Herbs’ Solar Flare and Supernatural’s Liquid Sunshine. Also LivOn Vitamin C sachets, Rooibos from Samovar Tea and Alexis Smart flower remedies and Mount Sunny herbs. And then seaweed, hemp seeds, cacao nibs, nooch, coconut sugar, licorice salt (thanks, Gaia!), date syrup, dehydrated everything (our dehydrator gets a workout in our home), and cacao from my friend Angela in Joshua Tree. I was told once that I was a condiment influencer(!) and I might have taken it as one of the best compliments ever!!!

Pineapple’s Pantry Staples

THE OLIVE OIL

THE ACV

You and CAP co-founder Cindy DiPrima Morisse wrote the book High Vibrational Beauty together, full of recipes and practices for healthful and intentional beauty. What do you mean by “high vibration,” and what ingredient(s) in your pantry are most exemplary of high vibration living?

  • High vibration is less about actual ingredients and more about feelings. For a long time I ate from a place of restriction; only allowing myself to eat certain things, at certain times and in certain circumstances, and I lost a lot of the beauty and joy that food brings to our life. Now, I’m much looser with my definition of what “health” is and I feel better than ever. High vibration means love, however you bring that into your life. For me that happens to be a diet that includes tons of leafy greens, vegetables, fruit, beans, sourdough, matcha, and coffee. As well as a bag of chips and a La Croix when the time is right.

CAP is all about ritual — what kitchen rituals are sacred for you?

  • I thrive in a well-loved and well-organized kitchen. Tidying, labeling, and caring for the kitchen allows me the freedom to be creative and playful and is a sacred part of preparing food for me.

To Sum It Up

PANTRY ITEM YOU SNEAK INTO EVERYTHING:

Himalayan pink salt and hot sauce.

YOUR MOST TRUSTED KITCHEN TOOL:

My Japanese knives.

COOKBOOK(S) YOU ACTUALLY USE:

Farm Lunch by Marjory Sweet, Cannelle et Vanille by Aran Goyoaga, anything from Amy Chaplin, , Zuni Cafe by Judy Rogers, Always Home by Fanny Singer, and of course, High Vibrational Beauty

5 ADJECTIVES THAT DESCRIBE YOUR PANTRY STYLE:

Abundant, curious, organized, committed, and fresh

YOUR ALL-TIME FAVORITE MARKET:

Cookbook Market

MOST SATISFYING FLAVOR PAIRING:

Spicy and salty.

WOMEN-MADE PANTRY PRODUCTS YOU PINE FOR:

Rhea condiments, Fly by Jing sauces, Diaspora spices, Daphnis + Chloe herbs, Oracle olive oil, anything Kat from Highly Likely makes, and obviously Pineapple!

YOUR FAVORITE MUSIC TO JAM OUT TO IN THE KITCHEN:

I like the kitchen quiet, but when I’m not cooking, I always rely on my husband’s playlists (@johnnyvp on Spotify) to guide me through the day.

Check out the Pantry series by Pineapple Collaborative, brought to you by Caviar, here.

--

--

Caviar

Get food you want. Check us out on Instagram and Twitter @Caviar.