You met an Animal Physiologist & Lecturer yet? — Dr. NseAbasi Etim

CAWSTEM
CAWSTEM Blog
Published in
5 min readJul 28, 2020

What did you want to be when you grow up?

Sounds familiar right?

Until you grew up and realized things were not as you thought.

Like you, many of us had to consider other career paths as we grew older and life realities set in. Dr. NseAbasi has been a super fan of science since childhood, and although she didn’t end up becoming a medical doctor as she dreamed of, she still got to become a doctor — she is currently a doctor of Animal Physiology, and she’s doing amazing.

Learn about Dr. NseAbasi’s journey!

Tell us about yourself

I am Dr. NseAbasi NsikakAbasi Etim. I lecture Animal Science in Akwa Ibom State University, Nigeria. With over 50 publications up my sleeves and membership in key professional bodies, I also inspire students around the world through several mentorship programs.

I was the best and only student that made Second Class Honours (Upper Division) in my Animal science undergraduate studies at the University of Uyo, Nigeria.

I forged ahead to obtain my MSc and Ph.D. degrees in Animal Physiology from Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Nigeria, with a CGPA of 5.00 during both programs.

With over 50 publications up my sleeves and membership in key professional bodies, I also inspire students around the world through several mentorship programs.

Recently, I mentored students who designed ‘Auxikit’, a protective kit to combat COVID-19. Auxikit contains self-sterilized face masks, enhanced face shield, and portable UV-light sterilizer that can be used at home and in hospitals to sterilize personal protective equipment.

I am happily married to Dr. Nsikak-Abasi Aniefiok Etim and we have a 15-year old son and an 8-year old daughter.

Your educational background…

I obtained my Bachelor of Agriculture degree in Animal Science from the University of Uyo in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. I graduated as the best and only student with Second Class Honours (Upper Division) in 2005/2006
session. I later obtained my M.Sc and Ph.D. degrees in Animal Physiology
from the Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike in Abia State,
Nigeria.

How did you decide that this was the path you wanted to pursue and what has been your experience so far?

Right from childhood, I fell in love with science because I love everything about science — the discoveries and inventions plus its ability to proffer solutions to real-life problems. I love that science is able to unravel mysteries. I love the fact that science is everywhere: in the food we eat, the clothes we wear, the air we breathe, and the way our body works.

For me, Science is a tool that has been able to save and serve humanity and the universe as a whole.

So, in secondary school, I decided to become a science student. I found Biology very interesting because I was able to know how the body works, so I planned to study Medicine at the University to become a Medical Doctor but today I am a Doctor of Philosophy in Animal Physiology. I am so much enjoying my life as an Animal Physiologist. I enjoy working and researching on animals as well as imparting knowledge to the next generation of scientists.

Your typical day as a Lecturer involves …

My typical day as an academic begins with my morning prayers, checking my calendar for activities for the day, and ensuring that every member of my family is attended to.

Thereafter, I check my email for any message that needs urgent attention and prepare for lectures or meetings in the office. I usually create time to visit the research farm to work on animals if I have any ongoing research.

Afterward, I go to pick my kids from school before heading home between 4 pm — 6 pm.

At home, I attend to my family and also have some rest before continuing with any outstanding work that I brought from the office.

Have you faced any difficulties so far? Or ever felt like you were not treated as equal?

As a woman who is a mother, wife, and a University Lecturer, I have faced a couple of challenges, ranging from stress at home to stress from dealing with unserious students. But these challenges have really made me become stronger and more determined to achieve all-round success.

So far, I do not think I have had an encounter that made me think that I was not treated as equal.

What’s the best thing about your career so far and what lesson did you learn from that?

The best thing about my career is the motivation it gave me to complete my Ph.D. studies. Becoming a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) has opened more doors for me than I could have ever imagined.

I have not recorded any failure in my career but I have only encountered challenges like dealing with unserious students and other work-related stress. Through the experiences I have had, I have learned to employ counselling and mentorship when dealing with such students. I have also learned to separate work time from rest time.

Your favorite “Life Lesson Quote” and how it’s relevant to you in your life?

My favorite ”Life Lesson Quote” is “THERE IS NO HARM IN TRYING”

Right from my childhood, this quote has always inspired me to look past barriers. So far, I have been able to push and break boundaries to achieve my life’s goals.

What were you doing the last time you looked at the clock and realized you had lost all track of time?

Writing and reviewing manuscripts for publication.

How do you strike a work-life balance?

I try to strike a work-life balance by ensuring that while I am in the office, I am mostly working and when I am at home, I am mostly resting.

Your favorite work tools?

My favorite work tools are my mobile phone and computer. I can not stay a day without a phone because I access emails, lecture materials, and other documents using phone and computer. I also engage in networking, online mentoring, online teaching, research, and search for scholarships, grants, and research opportunities worldwide.

Your Philosophy/Motivation to work?

Do not only work hard but also work smart. Know when to work and when to rest, because one has to be alive and healthy for work to be done.

So So Random: What can’t you do without

Hair or heels? Hair, because I feel smarter in flat shoes.

Jewelry or make-up: Jewellery, because I do not wear make-up

Books or movies: Books, because it is the reservoir of knowledge.

Club or Café: None

DIY or Pay someone: DIY (Do it yourself), because I trust myself to do a
better job.

Connect with Dr NseAbasi on LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter

CAWSTEM is a community of African women in STEM. We are a female-led crew, on a mission to rewrite the narrative about having few women in STEM and, especially in leadership positions. We share interesting insights, news, and resources to empower women in their STEM careers.You can join the community here

Every Tuesday, we publish stories here about African women’s journey in STEM. We know every STEM woman’s story is unique…so we tell these stories to inspire our community. If you would like to share your story with us, send an email to content@cawstem.org, we can’t wait to read from you!

--

--