Interns and co-ops joining CBC: News Social + Audience Development intern

Luis Felipe Mussalém
CBC Digital Labs
Published in
6 min readMay 3, 2024

This post is part of a series on “Interns and co-ops Joining CBC”. In each blog post, we invite people to take a courageous step and tell the story of their journey, highlighting the support they received as interns, co-op students, and opportunities discovered along the way that have sometimes resulted in a full-time position with CBC.

To join our teams at CBC, check out our current full-time openings here.

Learn more about CBC Journalism Internships here.

Luis sitting on a desk in the CBC newsroom

By Luis Felipe Mussalem, News Social + Audience Development intern at CBC News.

Q: As a young person, when asked “What do you want to be when you grow up,” how did you answer this question? How would you answer this question today?

As kids, I think we all had weird phases of wanting to be things in the blink of an eye. Although I was always in “the creatives,” I used to say I wanted to be a writer, and I stand for that. I think all roads lead to writing when you want to tell good stories.

Q: When embarking on your academic journey, what were your initial thoughts and impressions on entering an internship program, and what helped you decide to pursue the program?

I have always seen the benefit of getting an internship, so I prioritized programs that required one. Things are so hands-on in journalism and media and many people told me that experience means a lot. I can see the benefit of it today.

Q: What other internship assignments did you take part in with other organizations and how did they compare with what CBC had to offer?

CBC is my second internship, and my first was at the University of Toronto’s marketing and communications team. The work there was fairly similar (a lot of focus on social media), but having a big team at CBC really made a difference. I had many people to look up to and get guidance from, which made the experience one of a kind.

Q: Describe the recruitment process that you experienced when applying for an internship with CBC. What was particularly noteworthy about the process?

The process was new to me and it felt lengthy. It started with an email from my school, Centennial College, encouraging students to apply for it (because the application is through the school). I didn’t have much hope in the beginning, but then I decided I wanted to be in the News Social + Audience Development unit, went through a very challenging interview that included pitching multiple stories and here I am.

Q: What motivated you to consider working with CBC as an intern?

CBC plays a big role in Canadian news content and critical thinking. I knew I would learn a lot from everyone there, but my preparation for the interview was really what got me going. I was up for a challenge and I felt confident that I wanted to be involved in this type of work.

Q: What support did you receive after you landed the role? What kind of support worked well or could have been done differently?

All the training sessions I attended were awesome. On the first few days, we got to meet a few journalists and talked about Journalistic Standards and Practices and Equity and Inclusion in the newsroom. I also had a lot of support from my peers. My supervisor, Arti Patel, had set up 1-on-1 meetings between me and other folks on the team for me to learn about their trajectories and work. That was one of the highlights for me.

Q: When you started the role, what surprised you?

Learning how important it is for everyone in a newsroom to be on the same page. It was good to participate in story meetings that sometimes were just about everyone telling what they were doing. I think it serves as proof that behind strong newsrooms, there are journalists who are always connected and collaborating in different ways.

Q: Describe your first assignment. What were the challenges and rewards that resulted from your first assignment?

My first big assignment involved looking into audience questions about new visa regulations for Mexican nationals. I believe the core of audience development is listening to the public and finding different ways that our coverage can represent them, and that ended up being my first byline.

Being involved with social media is fascinating to me, so I have to mention my first TikTok video too. The biggest challenge was learning good pronunciation and tone, but the experience was good and it was cool to send it to my family.

Q: Describe the buddy that was assigned to you as a mentor and guide. What sage advice were they able to offer you and what did they learn in observing your passion and growth?

The buddies,* actually! I spent most of my time reporting to producers Tyler Bloomfield and Maria Jose Burgos… and they were great. I got to learn so much from both. From pitching good stories to how to engage with different audience members, these are lessons I’ll use for the rest of my career. I hope they learned something from me too, like being patient and seeing value in setting someone up for success.

Q: As you became more familiar with the project and related tasks you were assigned, what aspects of your academic experience best prepared you for completing the assigned work?

At the end of the day, I like to believe that if you know how to tell a story, you can go far in this industry (and many others too). My academic experience was full of practical work… I’ve written for newspapers in and outside of school, covered a research project abroad, and learned how to network with experienced people. All of those things were very helpful.

Q: We are aware that internship programs have different durations (e.g. 4, 8, 12, 16 month assignments). How long was your internship assignment with CBC and ideally how long would you have liked it to be? Why?

My program was six weeks long. It’s hard to put a time limit in a place where I learned so much, but I’ll say I could have benefited from a few more weeks with the team. I feel like just as I’m starting to get the hang of it, it’s time to leave!

Q: What on-the-job learnings did you take away from your experience with CBC that helped you be more successful in completing your academic program?

By connecting with as many people as I could, I learned that many found their own way to being at CBC and doing what they like. I used to think there was one recipe to become a successful reporter, but no… I met folks who worked in totally different places before. My mind is now very open to different career paths and if it’s meant to be, I’ll be walking around that newsroom once again.

Q: What advice would you give to students who are considering moving into an internship or co-op program?

Be a sponge. Let everything sink in and you won’t regret it. Interning proved to me that non-traditional journalism is about operating in spaces where audiences are, and your ability to know a certain platform can be an asset.

Q: What was the best advice you have ever received?

I once heard from a professor that it’s impossible to do everything we like, even on the dream job. We are often set to think that we are supposed to love every aspect of a job, when in reality many people don’t start like that. I learned that it’s important to think of what we are good at and see how far it can take us professionally.

Q: What would you imagine to be the next role in your career progression plans?

I’ve got a long way to go, but I want to tell stories. I’ll leave it at that.

To join our teams at CBC, check out our current full-time openings here.

Learn more about CBC Journalism Internships here.

--

--

Luis Felipe Mussalém
CBC Digital Labs

Award-winning journalist. I like telling stories, except the one about how I got here because I have no idea.