“Packing the Stands with Raving Fans” — Learning What Works from CBE Students

Colleen Pawlicki
Latest News in CBE
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2023

Looking back on CBExchange 2022, one of the most powerful sessions featured a panel of students who know competency-based education (CBE) best. Led by Adrian Haugarbook, Executive Vice President and Managing Director, Social Impact Collective at Southern New Hampshire University, students Maureen Stover, Koran Dorsett, and Ricky Washington shared their experiences with CBE.

During the conversation, three key elements of CBE rang true for the three student panelists.

Competency Based Approach

CBE programs allow students to use and build on the skills and knowledge they already have, while growing in the areas they still need to develop. WGU graduate Maureen Stover shared:

“I already had some of the skills I needed to be a teacher, but I needed to understand the theory. I needed to understand how to better utilize those skills I had and then apply them to a teaching position. WGU’s program is set up so that I was able to take those skills I already had and apply them into my learning.”

Flexibility

Each student on the panel cited the flexibility offered by CBE programs as a reason for their success. Each student shared that they were able to work on their coursework when it made sense for them, without the traditional restrictions of structured class sessions and deadlines. SNHU student Ricky Washington explained:

“There’s no set time, no set date that I have to go in and actually do school work. I can do it on my off days; I can do it anytime I want.”

Mentorship

Highlights of the CBE experience for all three students were the personal and professional mentorship, support, and relationships they gained from the programs. Stover reflected:

“WGU does not have an actual brick and mortar location where I can go, but they have an incredible mentorship program where you are connecting with someone every week who can help you answer questions, work through projects with you, help you with scheduling challenges…someone to just be moral support for you.”

The featured panelists are three among thousands of students who benefit from a CBE structure. Interviewer Adrian Haugabrook shared why CBE programs can be the key to success for many students:

“Often we treat students from a deficit perspective. If we design programs from the institution-first perspective, we will always continue to come down on students. The minute we begin designing with the student first, that’s when you see [student completion and success].”

--

--

Colleen Pawlicki
Latest News in CBE

Restless, bold, & optimistic. Editor, researcher, author, educator, coach. Owner of Troy Street Professional Services.