Discovering Hidden Gems

Alex Ortiz
CBU Worship Studies
5 min readJun 29, 2020
Mariners Church Irvine

I love getting to speak on the topic of developing future worship leaders because it is specifically something that I am very, very passionate about. I want to write this blog post through the story of a student named Paris.

Auditions

Paris was not a new student to worship who needed to audition when I arrived at Mariners, so before I tell her story I wanted to discuss my audition process with students.

Auditions are always a rough part of any student ministry worship team — you have many students who are actually amazing at their instrument, and those that have been told by their parents that they are amazing when in fact, the Lord has called them elsewhere. This bodes for many interesting conversations, some heartbreaking, and some that are very exciting. I found that having an audition right when the new school year hits became the best time for these high school students, it gives an opportunity for the middle schoolers who are coming up to audition and it is a good time to reassess the students that I will be able to have for the fall semester. Typically, students will have a decent understanding of their schedule for that school semester as well.

At the audition, there is a contract/agreement that I specifically have crafted for the student worship team. Once a student signs in for a time slot, they receive this agreement and have time while they wait to read it over and sign it before they give it to me or others at the audition. Included in this agreement is an audition form which is asking for their current skill, where else they use their instrument, and pertinent things such as contact info and *specifically* their instagram. This agreement dives deeply into what it looks like to be on the worship team, dress code, living above reproach, and expectations as a leader. It gives the students a chance to see what they are committing to, knowing that it is a time consuming commitment. Once they come into the room I always have at least two other people with me during auditions, one to take notes and the other to help with harmonies and other instrumental abilities. The audition process is simple, I have asked them to previously prepare one of the songs that I have pre-selected and ask them to perform it for me. The audition process with students takes longer because I like it to be a teaching experience. With students that I have auditioned before and are already on the team, I tell them what I want to work on with them that semester.

Mariners Church Irvine

The painful part begins when the students who are unable to be up to par with their skills. This takes a carefully crafted statement about the growth that they need and the time that they need to take either with their instrument or tell them sadly, the worship team is not for them.

Development

Back to Paris’ story. When I first got to Mariners, Paris was a very shy worship leader. What I found was interesting with her was the fact that her voice was this crystal clear beautiful toned voice, yet her worship leading needed so much work. When I met Paris she was going into her senior year of High School. We began first to develop her voice as a leader. I began to give her opportunities of leading the band and she began to learn to lead the band where she wanted to go and where the Spirit was leading. She began to become more confident when it came to speaking during a worship song, to leading worship moments. This took careful time where I would ask her to craft a worship moment out of a specific verse or out of the song itself. The more that she was given opportunity, the more that she grew.

I believe that when it comes to developing young worship leaders, you must give them opportunity. Force them to do the call to worship, ask them to lead worship moments. Push them out into the uncomfortable in order for them to become comfortable. The opportunities of leading rehearsal is beneficial for that young leader.

As Paris grew more she decided to write a worship song with a couple of her peers, she was able to record that worship song through the youth group and when we had a conference she was able to lead that song at the conference for over 600 students.

Paris Leading

Paris’ story ends with being invited when she graduated to be part of the summer camp band which was only adults. She took a song-Whole Heart (Hold Me Now) by Hillsong United and made it her own. On the last day, she went into this long spontaneous worship and had several worship moments. This was the ultimate culmination of all of her work developing as a worship leader. I remembered that timid worship leader and now saw a strong confident young worship leader who had taken the Gift that the Lord had given her and made it her own.

Conclusion

I believe that not only the future church but also the current church will be continually blessed by our young worship leaders. I have always wanted to develop other students because I was a young worship leader as well. I was poured into when I was Paris’ age because people saw an anointing on my life when it comes to worship leading. I think this is so necessary to make sure that we are pouring into our young worship leaders as they are the Church!

--

--