Foster the Future

Jasmine Butler
CBU Worship Studies
4 min readJun 22, 2020

I believe the children are our future, teach them well and let them lead the way…

There comes a time in every ministry where the baton needs to be passed on and placed in the next capable hands. Pastors, Ministers, Deacons, Worship Pastors/leaders, and other church leaders should always serve as mentors and be training up those they see the potential in carrying the torch as their successor. It is important to note that it is not always the case that a person grows up in a church, and stays to follow the direct footsteps of their mentors, but the training they receive and their leadership development should be applicable wherever they go.

Photo by Austrian National Library on Unsplash

I am extremely grateful for my journey to becoming a Worship Pastor; which I strongly believe started at the tender age of two years old. I happen to be one of those cases where I was born and raised in a church, and although I went to college across the country and lived life away for five years, my journey led me back home and I now serve in the very church that fostered me from birth. I would use my own experience as a guide in mentoring younger musicians and worship leaders, with relevant adjustments integrating technology, because the effects were so positive personally.

See Potential and Engage Interest

It is amazing how certain gifts and talents take root at young ages. If they are recognized early and fostered, the sky's the limit. A parent’s role in recognizing their child’s potential and creating space for them to explore it, while encouraging them along the way is vital. Kids nowadays are multitalented and have so many amazing abilities, but beyond what they do well, it is important to notice what they enjoy and show true interest in.

Using myself as an example, my mother always said that she knew from the time I was in the womb that I would sing. From birth I was surrounded by music; both parents were in the choir, I sang in the Children’s Choir at two, started piano lessons and did my first studio recording at eight and from there started performing beyond church; at school and a variety of community events.

My mentors/predecessors that served as Minister of Music at my current church each came alongside my parents and contributed to my development after realizing my talent and ultimately my interest and desire to sing. As they are all formally trained in music, they coached me, created opportunities for me to grow specifically in music ministry, connected me with other people that were able to share their expertise, and one even wrote my first song that I recorded. With having so much encouragement around me, my calling was clear to me very early on.

No Pressure

It is important for parents and mentors to find a healthy balance between pushing a young person to their potential and putting pressure on them to either be clone of themselves or living vicariously through them. I believe youth respond better to nudges and being allowed to figure certain things out themselves as opposed to being pushed and forced.

For example, I loved to sing and would spend hours listening to music and mimicking vocal runs that I heard or picking out harmonies so I could help my dad teach the choir parts but for some reason I had no desire to play the piano. When I was signed up for piano lessons, I was always so nervous to go because I knew I didn’t practice. After months of hearing the same sad song of ‘Jaz, you have to practice’, I was pulled out because I was not getting better and ultimately wasting money. To this day, I do not know or understand why I hated to practice so much and I kick myself because my piano skills would be superb now, had I had the desire and stayed the course.

A young musician should feel that they are supported and can do anything they put their mind to and work for and it is their mentor’s responsibility to set them up for success and provide opportunities for growth at a healthy pace.

Be Honest

Ministry can be the scariest but most fulfilling journey, but it is not for the faint of heart. When serving as a mentor to a young musician, that fact should not be hidden or shielded from them. The mentor only knows to share what they have seen and experienced, and while certain adult issues should not burden our youth, keeping communication open and being transparent will prepare them and save them from possible harm in the future. I was not completely naive to church politics and petty ways of people, but if I was told then some of what I have had to experience, I believe I would have less headaches now.

Stay Connected

As life and ministry are always evolving, the youth need to know that they are always covered in prayer and their mentor has their back. Training and developing their musical ability is important of course, but building them up to be people of integrity and true followers of Christ is number one. Technology and social media have made people easily accessible and can serve as a great way to stay connected and meet young people where they are.

--

--