Planning Worship

Alex Ortiz
CBU Worship Studies
4 min readApr 6, 2020
Photo by Rachel Lynette French on Unsplash

Through the years there have been several different ways to plan worship for me. From planning months in advance to last minute changes, I have found that being in ministry causes a person to be ready for anything. Many times, it has even come down to set changes on the day of, perhaps an hour before or even in the middle of the service! Therefore, I have put together a short list which showcases the way that I plan worship. Additionally, it will be for the last minute changes not to happen too often or be a complete surprise when things need to be switched up. This list is for all worship leaders in their planning in order to help.

1. Get Ahead

Proverbs 12:27 — The lazy man does not roast what he took in hunting, But diligence is man’s precious possession.

Getting ahead calls for time, planning, and effort. I love to schedule people out 1–2 months in advance so that everyone is ready and either accepts the request and is available or if something comes up they are able to let me know in advance. This is courteous to all of my volunteers and others involved so that I am not giving them requests late and asking them to give up their time when I am not prepared myself.

Getting ahead with songs also gives those volunteers scheduled time to practice and get familiar with the setlist. This means that anyone who is doing the lyrics or lighting or even your audio engineers are able to familiarize themselves with what the service will look/feel like. Getting ahead is one of the best things to do to prepare yourself and ready the band and other worship leaders to make the weekend service the best that it can possibly be.

2. Get with your Pastor

Hebrews 13:17 — Obey your leaders and submit to them, for they are keeping watch over your souls, as those who will have to give an account. Let them do this with joy and not with groaning, for that would be of no advantage to you.

Another very important part of planning comes with connecting with your Senior Pastor or the pastor that will be providing the sermons. It helps with planning ahead that you are able to understand the series that the pastor wants to go into, the theme around it, and possible verses that will be used throughout the series. When we are planning worship, we want to make sure that we are telling a story. That story, is best told when every chapter is cohesive. If chapter 3 of a western love story novel all of a sudden told us we were on Mars with no understanding of how we got there, the story would no longer make sense. This is the same for our worship services, we want every part of our story to work well. This way, we can work together to tell the gospel message to our congregations. The importance also of working alongside the pastors, is because you are both a team, accomplishing the same goal.

3. Get Flexible

1 Corinthians 1:10 — I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment.

The greatest lesson I ever learned when I was a sophomore young worship leader at my youth group was to be flexible. Our worship leader used to tell us to be prepared for our pastor to say, “lets sing ‘As the Deer Panteth,’” during the service. I learned at an early age the need to be flexible as there is always something that may need to be tweaked. Specifically, a lot of times there is a need to cut or shorten a song for time. There is a need as a worship leader to be ready for everything. I am specifically prepared with listening to the Holy Spirit. There is an importance to preparation beforehand but it is so important to also be spontaneous. The Spirit is constantly moving and I have learned that no amount of preparation can dictate what the Spirit wants to do. Therefore, in the midst of all of my preparation I also prepare my heart to be ready to listen to what the Lord wants to do through me.

Conclusion

In the end, these three points are just the tip of the iceberg. Until worship leaders actually experience planning a worship service for a long time will they understand how each of these points can help. So I will continue to get ahead, get with my pastor, and get flexible when it comes to my planning as I know that I want to create the greatest worship service that I can to bring the Lord my best. Let us continue to prepare and let the Lord move through us!

--

--