Photo by gbarkz on Unsplash

Give Him Praises by William McDowell

Searching For Biblical Depth in Worship Music

Kerry Paxton
4 min readOct 21, 2019

--

When writing a worship song there are many things to take into consideration. Some of the things that may come up could be song key, song structure, or the big question of if this song is teaching the gospel? On the other hand, it seems as if some people make it a point to not ask any of those questions at any point in the process of writing a worship song. To some writers the most important thing is the emotional connection that a song makes to the people listening. Emotional connection is not a bad thing, but it may not be the most important thing to focus on in writing.

My Personal Assessment

William McDowell’s song “Give Him Praises” was first released on his 2009 album As We Worship Live and was recently recorded on his current album The Cry: A Worship Experience. I was recently requested to teach and lead his song at my local church. At first listen I was a fan of the music and arrangement. But while continuing my listen, I began to ask myself, “Is this the type of song that would blend well at church.” I belong to a church of roughly 2000 members that is predominantly white. I myself am a black man who grew up in predominantly black churches singing gospel. I found myself asking why I felt conflicted about bringing this song, that was suggested by a congregation member (who is also black by the way), to the worship director. I felt this was a perfect time to assess the song to see if the song could be used to minister or was it just the comfort food that I’m used to.

Photo by Nicole Honeywill / Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Off the top, I have no issue with any of the lyrics. McDowell’s writing speaks to biblical truths about God and makes it a point that we sing about his greatness. The song says, “You are the Lord God almighty, perfect in everything You do.” That’s better theology than some songs I’ve heard played regularly on Christian radio. The song continues to focus on “we” as a church praising and giving honor to God. One distinctive point about the song that I really like is the fact that the song regularly states that “we” as a church praise God rather than focus on the “I” or individual worshipper that we see focused on in songs today. That’s refreshing and exciting to see a song written in that way. Encouraging and bringing to the focus the church as one an exalted praise.

The Music Is Always a Factor

Photo by Puk Khantho on Unsplash

When it comes to the music of the song this is where I’m beginning to see problematic issues. The issue stems not so much from the 2009 version of the song but recently released 2019 version that the congregant shared with me. The musician in me was a big fan and was eager to sit down to learn how to play some of the intricate keyboard and key-synth parts of the song. At first, I laughed at thinking how a beginner keyboardist would get stuck on these parts and likely skip the fun sections all together. However, as I continue to reflect on it, it was no longer funny thinking of the young musician who wants to help their church becoming frustrated by the song. Maybe he would even scrap the song all together and the message of the song never seeing the light of day at that church. In no way am I saying we should dumb down our musicianship…. progression is always expected and welcomed. But when specifically looking at gospel, I’ve met many producers and songwriters who see the album as the time to show their stuff rather than to shine light on the glory of God. I don’t know if that was the case here but I do know that not every church has the means or the talent to play some of these parts.

Lastly, looking at congregational appropriateness, is this song a good song for my church on a Sunday in general? This brings me back to the moment I paused to think about how the congregation at my church would receive the song. I feel that if the music’s lyrics are sound and honor God, there’s no reason I cannot musically adjust any song to a particular style that fits my congregation.

Being a worship pastor is more than just being able to play the newest and hottest songs “lick for lick” and “run for run.” It is also being able to mold and adjust music so that the glory of God is focused on not the particular style and taste of the musician.

--

--