An Open Letter to Jon Stewart

An American treasure, a culture symbol, a super star of my generation, and a hero in my heart.

Hubert Wang
Printed Paper
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2015

--

I am writing this with tears in my eyes. Today is your last show. The camera pans in and you look straight into it and say “Welcome to the daily show, my name is Jon Stewart. We have a great show for you tonight.” Sir, you are my hero. I can’t think of another word other then hero to describe what you mean to me. You are more then just a host of my favorite show; you played an important role in my life. I started watching your show around mid 2009. I was a grade 11 boarding student up in Canada. I knew little to nothing about American politics, and culture. Being in an all English environment since 2006, I was just getting a hang of western culture comedy. I laughed my ass of when I fist watch your show, and asked myself, how come I never seen a show done like this before? After a couple of viewing, I was surprised by the amount of knowledge I gain regarding what was happening in America. The Daily Show was my gateway to American culture. My interest in American politics intensified as I watched more and more of your show. After watching couple of your interviews where you talk about the principle of your show, I was amazed how I can constantly bring out those points and validate them every time I watch. “The Daily Show is not a fake news show, because fake is bad. Facts are what make it funny. It’s a show that makes fun of the actual news.” Every night for 16 years, you came out and educated us with the truth well making us laugh. You somehow find a way to inform us the news while entertaining us. You sacrificed time with your wife and children so we can learn and laugh, so we can be informed. When you first announced your departure, it was one of the saddest day of my life, but I completely understand your intention. Because, I can’t remember how many times I have had this thought “it must be hard for his family, daddy/husband is almost never home for dinner, and sometimes not there to say good night.” You have given more then enough to this nation and all your viewers, you have inspire countless minds to do what you do, and to do better. You are an American treasure, a culture symbol, a super star of my generation, and a hero in my heart. You inspire me to do better, and I will always look up to you. Thank you Jon Stewart

Your super fan, Hubert Wang

The Daily Show ‪#‎thankyoujon‬ ‪#‎thedailyshow‬ ‪#‎jonstewart‬ #jonvoyage

--

--