Good Idea, Bad Idea

John Sun
2 min readSep 15, 2017

--

The following are potential Senior Thesis topic ideas I have in mind.

Artificial Intelligence: I would like to explore the theory that people want to feel an emotional connection to objects.

Pros:

Artificial Intelligence is a technology, which will soon become a part of our everyday lives.

This topic explores the interaction between humans and machines, which is something that is becoming more intimate.

Would provide exploration and better understanding of the technology that awaits us.

Cons:

We are required to build something for our thesis project. With this particular topic, I have no idea what I would build. (A robot? An application with machine learning? I have no idea how to do any of that.)

I am unsure if people will care/I don’t know who my audience is.

Would this be a thought provoking exploration?

Asian American representation in American media

This is a topic, which I have strong feelings towards. It upsets me that Asian Americans make up only 4.3% of the cast members of regular cast members on television.

Pros:

Provokes a strong emotion from me, which would keep my interest throughout the research process.

It could potentially raise awareness about an underrepresented demographic and serve as a call to action.

Potentially bridge a connection or resonate with other under-represented groups in mainstream media.

Cons:

I may become too attached to the topic and it may expose biases that I might have.

It could potentially have a polarizing effect on the audience.

May not gain the sympathy of non-Asians.

Augmented Reality for Inventory and Shopping Experience

Pros:

We’ve all experienced a state of frustration when trying to locate something within a store, exploring new ways to use this as a tool rather than entertainment might be worthwhile.

Exploring a new technology could be exciting.

Possibility of creating an experience, which could bring people back into brick and mortar stores.

Cons:

Is the technology not widespread enough for people to be invested?

Difficulties with building

Difficult to test

--

--