It’s the start of senior year…

Jennifer Kim
CCA IxD Thesis Writings
3 min readSep 15, 2017

And the highly anticipated, somewhat daunting thesis class has finally arrived… and I’m a little terrified. While I am excited to embark on this year-long journey to work on something I am passionate about, I am not without concerns. Will it be a topic that I will be happy with for a whole year? Will I be able to create something that can leave a small impact in the world — or even for one person? How many times will I doubt and question myself in terms of the choices I make?

Those questions I just asked all stem from my lack of self-confidence, but this year I’m trying to improve, not just in my work but as an individual. In order for me to go about this self-development, some of my goals include making sure I take charge and own all of my ideas, being more decisive and assertive, and becoming a kick-ass presenter. At the end of this year, I want to look back and see how much progress I’ve made, which I hope will show through in my thesis documentation.

Jorge Arango’s and Chris Baum’s 2017 UX Week workshop on leading effective co-creation sessions helped me focus on the skills I wanted to develop.

After doing a couple of exercises reflecting on my personal life and future desires, I pulled out some key issues and areas of dilemma that I or someone I knew went through. Initially it was difficult for me to organize my post-its in terms of how much I cared about it and how much the world needed it because it all felt important. However, as part of my own goal of taking charge, owning things, and putting my foot down on myself and making decisions, I eventually narrowed it down to three ideas.

Seniors — changing the way they live their lives after retirement.

Pros: There are many examples about how seniors are neglected, isolated, and depressed when they live alone, with even some stories of mistreatment in senior homes. This is an issue that not many people are fully aware of and needs to be addressed, especially with the continuously growing senior population in the world.

Cons: While there can be a lot of research done in order to determine the future of senior living, it would constantly have to be changing in order to accommodate for each generation’s beliefs and norms.

Encouraging and educating on self-care

Pros: While people out there have advice and tips they share with others when it comes to self-care, most don’t take action to really take care of themselves. There is not enough education and encouragement around this topic and as a result, many people decline in health both physically and mentally.

Cons: I would have to encourage myself to really think outside of the box here, because it sounds like it could become another one of the many health and exercise apps that exist out in the world.

Music cognition

Pros: Music has amazing and beneficial effects on the mind that many people are not familiar with. It may be valuable for there to be more education about the effects of music starting from a young age and continuously encouraging them to implement it in any way during their life.

Cons: I personally am very attached to this topic and it’s been something I have been interested in for years. I’m worried I may end up unconsciously restricting myself in terms of what part of this topic I would want to pursue.

This is the first step for me to start opening my mind up a little more and making sure I don’t get fixated on one idea. Thinking of both the pros and cons will prepare me for any potential problems I could run into in the future during the course of my thesis. Time to get started!

--

--