Senior Thesis Topic Ideas

David Lee Dang
CCA IxD Thesis Writings
2 min readSep 15, 2017
https://www.ethos3.com/2015/12/creative-ideas-for-slideshare-presentations-and-content/

Senior year is finally here! It’s that time of the year when seniors have to select a thesis topic that they’re passionate about. As I embark my one year long journey of exploring in a topic, there will be many road bumps and pivots along the way. In order to get started, I did a couple of exercises on reflecting my personal life in what I’m really passionate about. From there, I would prioritize each of my ideas on post-it notes and map them on a 2 x 2 matrix in terms of what “the world needs vs. taken care of” and “I care vs I don’t care.” Eventually filter them out until I have 3 topics I want to focus on.

Here are the 3 Topics I selected.

  1. Security in IOT or Cloud Platforms

Pros: There’s a large market of security right now as many more hackers growing each and every year. As many large companies have our informations, how are they storing/using this information? Is it safe enough? This are all sensitive information that many hackers can gain access if we don’t increase protection.

Cons: There is a huge learning curve about security and multiple layers in understanding security. Finding experts in the field will be hard and challenging, but having an intern at a security company will benefit me as I continue my senior thesis.

2. Educating Millennials on Financial Investment

Pros: Many millennials don’t have clue when it comes to investment. They are not educated on the value of investment. Starting young can have a huge benefit especially going to a private school that costs $60k+ a year. Anyone would rip their heads off paying for it themselves. Millennials needs to be educated in investing early in stocks, IRA and other investment.

Cons: Getting the interest of millennials in investment can be tricky if they are not interested in the topic. How can I reach more millennials in investment?

3. Effects of Children in troubled neighborhoods in the Bay Area

Selecting the right location for a home is crucial for a new home buyer especially if they are planning on having a child. It effects everything in a child from education, friends, and influences. Studies have shown that it growing up in a bad neighborhood does more harm then good. https://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/27/upshot/growing-up-in-a-bad-neighborhood-does-more-harm-than-we-thought.html

Pros: Everyone wants the best for their children. There are a lot of opportunity to educate and inform homebuyers on which location and schools is best near by.

Cons: As the rich gets richer, they are able to send their children to better schools and educations. How about the low income parents? There are already Boys & Girls clubs that help reach out to trouble neighborhoods.

--

--