Grid, Style, and Format

Nawon Choi
CDF 2018 Fall
Published in
6 min readDec 16, 2018

Final Design

Cover
Page 1–2
Page 3–4
Page 5–6
Page 7–8
Page 9–10
Page 11–12
Page 13–14
Page 15–16
Page 17–18
Page 19–20
Page 21–22 (Back Cover is white)

Print 2018 Individual Project

About the Project

For this project, we were to create a bound book of content that we created. We were to incorporate all the communication design concepts that we learned to form the book directly around our content. The aim of this project was to explore visual and verbal interaction and exemplify our ability to combine the two.

Process

Choosing the Content

For the content of my book, I wanted to use the food photographs that I have been taking, editing, and uploading throughout the past year. I use a photo editing and sharing app called VSCO.

vsco.co/nawonie

I had a lot of content and food images to choose from, so the main consideration that I had when thinking about the book design was how I should organize the content.

Some of my ideas included: a food and travel diary, a food/restaurant review guide, a food tour by city, a comparison of the same foods at different cities and restaurants.

Ultimately, I decided to make a food diary of 2018, organized chronologically by month. I tried to keep the text very brief, summarizing briefly where I traveled to each month.

Initial digital iterations

My initial digital iterations were done on half-letter sized paper. In these stages, I experimented with different grid layouts. I also played around with typefaces and establishing hierarchy in the text.

Interim Critique

Interim critique feedback

I showed these mockups during the interim critique. Some of the most notable comments were regarding the somewhat awkward white space in some of the images, as well as comments suggesting different typefaces be used. I also had people encourage me to write more in-depth about the food and my personal experience with it.

Digital Iterations

I spent a lot of time on the July spread in particular. Trying to fit these two images on the same page was a challenge.

I decided to switch the size of my book to be a square because it gave me more room to explore different grid layouts. I also felt like a square was more fitting for a photo book.

I selected the content that I wanted to include for each page, then tried to design a grid layout that was unique to those images. After creating the layout of the photos, I would then go back and fit the text into the page. Each page was a new challenge, almost like a puzzle, where I had to think about the best way that the photos could be displayed.

I bound my book with a Two-Saddle Stitch using a needle and thread. I felt that this would be the best way to bind it because it would allow the book to be opened flat so that the entire spread could be seen.

Final Product

Book Cover
I also included an introductory text to explain the contents and motivations behind this book.
I tried to establish a subtle gradient with the color of the photos for this page.

Conclusion

If I were to redo this project, I would use a photo printer to print my book, because the printer that I used dulled the images a bit. However, I am quite satisfied with the final product and had a lot of fun designing each page. This was definitely my favorite project of the ones that we worked on throughout this course. I especially liked this project because this book is so personal to me and it felt really satisfying at the end, to hold a finished product that I designed, cut, and bound myself.

--

--