P4 Book Cover

Rachel Park
CDF 2018 Fall
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2018

For this project, the main objective was to create a design for a series of books that best conveyed the story as well as create a compelling communicative way to showcase the books themselves.

For my designs, I chose to utilize the books Matilda, James and the Giant Peach, and the Big Friendly Giant all written by Roald Dahl. For my series, I decided to focus on the main child protagonists and their adventures within each of the stories. Because the characters themselves are so young, I decided that keeping a simple, minimalist and colorful theme would be the best for the content of the designs. To make the entire covers interesting, I also decided to keep a method of continuity within the covers so that whatever is illustrated in the front is also continued in the back covers.

Below are some of the preliminary sketches as I was trying thinking through different scenarios that I would use to illustrate the covers.

Further down are photos of my final designs printed and folded and put on physical books as real covers. As well as the final images of the digitized computer illustrated drawings.

Overall, I thought that this project was very fun to do and appreciated how it made me think even more as a designer to consider the communication of the book content that I was working with.

--

--

Rachel Park
CDF 2018 Fall

Carnegie Mellon Architecture student with a strong curiosity for Design