Project 3: A type specimen poster, Garamond

Fiona Li
CDF 2018 Fall
Published in
5 min readOct 13, 2018

--

Final Project

In this project, we are making a type specimen poster. The typeface I was assigned with is Garamond, an old-style serif letter typeface, created by Claude Garamond in late renaissance.

In the beginning, I tried to draw down my ideas on the paper with a pencil and quickly I came up with posters with a lot of drawings, including pictures of matrices and books.

Drafts

However, after I showed my drafts to our TA Rachel, she reminded me that we were not allowed to use complex pictures in our poster but only character.

Uppercase and Lowercase Garamond Only

With that in mind, I started out playing around with the arrangement of each character in the word Garamond. However, as I tried a couple of iteration, I found the posters to be too plain. Most of them are not so meaningful work without at least a paragraph describing what Garamond is. Thus, I went on doing a deeper research on the history of Garamond and trying to find out what could be an alternative approach to present this old-style serif typeface.

Random Try on 1st Iteration

The creation of the typeface Garamond has a long history to tell, and there are a couple of points really caught my eyes so I decided to apply those points to my poster to make the meaning of my poster richer.

The first point is this typeface was based on the typeface used in a book called de Aetna : Petri Bembi de Aetna Angelum Chabrielem liber, which means a joinery to De Aetna in English. Although I myself have not read the book, I could read joy, happiness and nature just from the name of a book. Thus, I thought about constructing a shape with characters that connects nature and the typeface.

Secondly, I learned that this typeface was created by a French engraver Claude Garamond. He used to engrave these character to punches, which were used to make matrixes for letter printing. As I was googling punches and matrixes, I found that most punches were made out of metal and most matrixes were made out of copper.

Lowercase Claude Garamond

With those ideas in mind, as I was playing with arranging characters of the word “Garamond”, I thought about arranging characters of word “Claud” as well. With a couple of trying with both upper cases and lower cases, I found if I have so many characters on the poster, it is a bit too crowded and not clean to read.

Uppercase Claude Garamond

However, at the same time, I found that the shape of ‘C’ and the shape of ‘G’ are similar but different in an interesting way. Thus, instead of trying out a different arrangement of 13 characters from “Claude Garamond”, I went on trying different orientations, positions of only 2 characters.

Shape with Cs and Gs

The turned out was really exciting as I formed a shape of flower from these two characters which I did not expect myself. The reason why it implies the meaning of a flower is the book joinery to De Aetna delivers a sense of nature in the history of this typeface. When I presented my poster ideas to our class, most peers thought it is cool shape and idea while some thought it looks a bit scary because the shape has too many angles and lines, while remaining the whole shape as a big black chunk.

Different tries on colors
Different tries on colors

Thus, for my final iteration, I decided to add colours to my design to make it less aggressive. From my second idea, I want to apply grey and brown as my theme colours for the poster, for metal punches are usually grey and copper matrices are brown. By doing so, not only did I deliver the history of the typeface creator, but also made the poster warmer and less scary to read.

The Final Iteration

Type & Hierarchy Exercise 3

Designer: Claude Garamond who was a French engraver.

Time: This typeface was created in late renaissance, sixteenth-century.

Type classification: Garamond is an old-style serif letter typeface.

Differences: ‘e’ with a small eye and ‘a’ with a sharp hook upwards at top left.

Text : “de Aetna : Petri Bembi Garamond Angelum Chabrielem liber”

--

--