Project 3 : Exercises

Alessandra Fleck
CDF 2018 Fall
Published in
3 min readSep 23, 2018

T Y P E F A C E . T R A C I N G

For the first part of this project, I was assigned to trace over different font types with a fine tip sharpie. During the course of tracing over each font, I was able to note the subtle differences in angle and stroke thickness that drew to the overall dramatic difference in typeface.

T Y P O G R A P H I C . V O I C E

For the second exercise I chose to study the different typefaces for the words “purity” and “organic.” I chose these two words because I felt like they can take on several different meanings and therefore emotions with different typefaces.

As seen in the above three versions of “purity” the typeface gives a different tone of that purity. The bottom one in american typewriter gives a bit of a rustic feeling to the word purity whereas tratello expresses the word with a bit of elegance and the skia gives the word a “cleaner” sense.

As for the word “organic” the top font in arial seems like something off a grocery item. Simple and clean. The middle typeface in herculanum gives the word a sense of earthiness and the bottom a bit of a signature to the word, as if whatever is labeled with the word has a sense of pride behind it.

P A R T . 0 3 . T Y P O G R A P H I C . H I E R A R C H Y

The third aspect of the project involved the understanding and experimentation of different layering of Helvetica Neue. In each of the seven exercises there were constraints made to ensure simple transformations of the original text file.

For the third project of part two I was assigned to investigate and analyze further the typeface “Helvetica.” This project can be viewed in the post “Project 3 : Type and Hierarchy”

Read more about Helvetica at :

--

--