Project 5 : Grids, Style & Format

Alessandra Fleck
CDF 2018 Fall
Published in
4 min readDec 16, 2018

In this project we were asked to create a short story or book that utilizes the elements of typography, grid styles and other design composition factors. Going into this project I chose to follow a pastel theme modern styled book that balanced abstract form with the ordinary one and exhibited the juxtaposition/contrast of the two.

S H A P E S . + . T H E M E

To begin the design process for the book, I first started with a series of sketches that first took a set of rudimentary shapes (circle, triangle, square, rectangle) look at their transition from a 2D element to a 3D element, then from there I morphed the 3D form and played with transforming it/ bringing out elements in the form that might have not been so apparent at first.

C O L O R . C O N T R A S T . E M O T I O N

In getting the different shapes down and looking at their qualities, to begin styling the book, I then look at how form with color could influence emotion. I chose a pastel palette of different colors to do so and tried to combine certain colors with certain expressions to either juxtapose or compliment the gesture of the 3D composition.

C O M P O S I T I O N . + . G R I D S

The second phase of composing the book was to match the grid to the different characters that existed within the book as well as the different types of expressions different parts of the book represented.

There were three main types of grids I developed for the book. The first being the title pages, the second being a a photo grid of transition (to represent phase changing), and the third being the short words or phrases that represented each movement.

To keep the modern aesthetic of the I chose to use Avenir text.

B O O K . S E C T I O N S + I N T E R N A L . T H E M E S

Within the book, after a set grid layout was established and the compositions were done rendering, I sought to organize the compositions by their means of relationships.

The compositions were broken down into the following chapters in the book:

  • Release ( which seeks to look at shapes that hold lots of energy and capture the juxtaposition of containment with the release of some of that energy)
  • Express (which seeks to show how color and texture can inform the character of an object)
  • Gleam (which seeks to exhibit the subtle shine and delicateness of an object as shown through the warmth of light reflecting off of it)
  • Transform ( which seeks to exhibits the transformative nature of objects and the new form and colors that arise from that transformation)

T H E . F I N A L . B O O K

--

--