CDF Project 1

Gracia Lai
CDF S19
Published in
1 min readJan 17, 2019

Effective vs Ineffective Design

Effective Design: The first time I went to Boost juice bars I was amazed by their cup designs because my hands did not feel the coldness coming from the smoothie. Usually my hands get so cold holding the cup and there are no cup holders for cold drinks so, I loved that they included air bubbles in the cardboard that added insulation and also ensured that the cup wasn’t slippery. In addition, their use of cardboard was very eco-friendly and also did not create condensation, so your hands wouldn’t be get wet from holding the drink.
Ineffective Design: A plastic cup is usually what you find in most smoothie bars but I find this design ineffective as when I hold the cup my hands feel very cold and then my smoothie melts faster from the heat of my hands. In addition, there’s usually condensation created on the outside making your hands very wet. Plastic is also not environmentally friendly.

--

--