CDF Project 2

Sashank Gogula
CDF S19
Published in
5 min readFeb 8, 2019

Order

In my sketches, I played around with squares forming organized patterns. In the second sketch, that idea is “animated” in that it shows a chaotic group of squares becoming ordered. Except the first, the sketches have same sized squares to create a sense of consistency.

Order sketches

I really liked my first idea of having blocks in ascending order. Having the two blocks on the edges cutoff implies that the ordering keeps going, utilizing the continuation principle of Gestalt. The implied foreverness allows the image to instill a greater sense of order than just the 4 visible squares. So, I illustrated it and stuck with it as my final version.

Order final

Tension

In sketches 1, 3, and 5, there is a sort of narrative that is created where the smaller square is in a tense situation among larger squares. The juxtaposition of significantly larger squares with smaller ones makes them look even more menacing. In sketch 2 and 4, I tried a more abstract approach to evoke the sense of tension.

Tension sketches
Tension digital illustrations

I decided that the narrative approach more clearly portrayed tension. Among the 3, I found the image of a square about to fall the most resonant. The feeling of being on the edge of something tall and gravity are pretty relatable. Again, the cutoff square acting like a cliff implies a sense of continuation that makes the fall of the square even more scary.

Tension final

I played with different angles and positions for the small square and finally settled on the square being far enough off the edge that its fall seemed inevitable.

Congestion

The first ideas that I had for congestion utilized the proximity Gestalt principle as can be seen in sketches 1, 2, 3, and 5. It made sense for a lot of squares to be struggling for space in order to convey congestion. However, I thought it would be interesting to take the idea of struggling for space and reduce it to a single square, which can be see in sketch 4.

Congestion sketches
Congestion digital illustrations

I attempted digitally illustrate the spiral idea, but was unable to make it look the way I wanted to. I decided to stick with the single square idea. Rachel had the idea to rotate the square, and I thought it really added to the sense of claustrophobia and struggle to get free. The rotated square adds motion and suggests that the square is actively trying to get free.

Congestion final

Playfulness

At first I tried to make it look like the square was having fun on its own. Having it rotated and hiding behind a corner make it seem childlike. However, it became clear that adding “friends” for the square to play with greatly added to sense of playfulness.

Playfulness sketches
Playfulness digital illustrations

With the last sketch I tried to portray one square having fun among the rest, but I don’t the message got lost with so many squares being ordered. I finally decided to go with option with lots of squares playing around. It was important to give each of them enough space as to not feel congested but have them close enough so that it seems like they are playing with each other.

Playfulness final

Comfort

When sketching comfort, I went back and forth about being comfortable alone or being comfortable with others was the way to go. In sketch 3, I went in between and had the squares with plenty of personal space but still together.

Comfort sketches
Comfort digital illustrations

I liked the image of the two squares together so I iterated with that one. I added some space between them to clearly show that they are separate, but made sure that they remained close in order to express their comfort with each other. I moved the squares to the base of the canvas so that they are grounded and resting.

Comfort final

--

--