Grid, Style & Format

Gracia Lai
CDF S19
Published in
3 min readMay 4, 2019

Project 5

About the Project

I Chose to make a book out of my AP art concentration: Distortion, which is about distortion of societal views. I designed the layout of the book using the knowledge of typography and grid system.

Project Process

I wanted to create a simple and organized layout for the artwork and also description of it. I also wanted to have a museum feeling for the layouts. In addition, I added the color blocks on the description page of the artworks because I wanted to connect the artwork and the description page. For the cover page I took the color blocks in the artworks and created a pattern in the front page. For the artist statement page I wanted to somehow incorporate my artworks so I decided to do a collage of it but for most of them I chose to only include the eyes of the portraits because I feel that the eyes tell the story of the artwork and is also my favorite part to create.

Sketchbook

--

--