P3 Exercise

Sashank Gogula
CDF S19
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2019

Exercise 1

Exercise 2

Traditional

American Typewriter harkens to a traditional form of typing
Garamond seems like it would be found in a novel which is a traditional form of media

Final

Times Roman is the traditional font used in essay writing and resembles traditional newspapers. I chose the default settings since it maintains the idea of tradition.

Future

I initially Andale Mono that reminded me of a computer/code font since technology is a driving force for the future
I thought spacing out the letters evoked a sense of possibilities that is tied to the future
I switched to Acumin Variable which was thinner and simpler since things tend to become simpler over time

Final

I chose a thinner and italicized font to evoke a sense of moving forward

Melancholy

I thought a bold serif font like Athletas in lowercase letters evoked sadness
I moved the letters closer to evoke a tightness that is sometimes felt when sad

Final

I switched the font to Minion Pro because it felt darker and more gothic

Exercise 3

--

--