Project 5

Concept

Tyler Davis
CDF S19
4 min readMay 8, 2019

--

Right before we were introduced to Project 5, I had finished shooting photos for Spirit Fashion Show. As a creative lead, I was responsible for headshots, promo “diary entries”, and shooting the show. After realizing that we only put together a pamphlet for attendees, I thought it might be a good idea to create a lookbook with the photos I had just taken!

Sketches

Before adding in content, I created a simple layout for the front, back, and body pages. For the body pages, I created multiple options with variations of vertical and horizontal photos.

I quickly realized that my layout didn’t give the photos enough attention, so I made them larger shortened the margins.

Digital Iteration

The following images are the front, back, and an example body page from my first digital iteration. I started with an all-black theme and chose images from my favorite 5 lines from the show. At first, each body page had the same arrangement with a full-length vertical shot on the left side and one horizontal shot on the right.

Interim Crit

During the interim crit, I received very useful advice. It was suggested that I add variation to the layout, make the images larger, change the fonts, add info about the designers, experiment with background color, and bring more attention to the photos rather than the text. I was also given sample lookbooks from Suzanne that had very appealing layouts.

Final Book

After incorporating nearly all of the feedback from the interim crit, I settled on my final layout:

Conclusion

Overall, I am very satisfied with my final book. I enjoyed creating something with my own, original content, especially since it’s something I can share with the Spirit Fashion Show team. I received very positive feedback from my peers and feel more comfortable using yet another design tool.

--

--