Type & Hierarchy Documentation

Nathan Naylor
CDF S19
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2019

Exercise 1

Exercise 2

Denial

Iteration Process for Denial
OCR-A

I felt as thought OCR-A best represented denial for me because the font is bold and very sharp angles with a mixture of serif and sans serif letters that give it a strong feeling of emphasis and structure while also maintaining variation.

Organic

Iteration Process for Organic
Letter Gothic Slanted

I felt as though Letter Gothic Slanted best represented organic to me because the letters have very soft curves, consistent line weighting, and an oblique look of to the letters that makes the word feel more natural.

Supreme

Iteration Process for Supreme
Rockwell

Rockwell best represented supreme to me because the strong serifs, slab weighting, and heavy contrast portray a strong sense of power to me that represents the word well.

Exercise 3

Linespacing
Typographic weights
Horizontal shift or Indentation
Typographic weight & linespacing
Typographic weight & horizontal shift
Horizontal shift & linespacing
Size change & typographic weight

--

--