Is Video Game Really Bad?

Rui Yang
CE Writ150
Published in
2 min readAug 29, 2022

For me, a community represents people with the same or many common characteristics and preferences. For example, I consider myself a member of a game-playing community. Children born in the 21st century are lucky. Technology is advancing so fast that it has only been a decade since the small cell phone was introduced to the smartphone, and the computer has become common in every home.

However, in the eyes of most parents in mainland China, playing video games is an improper hobby. In their mouths, the “single story” about gamers is that they are addicted to computer games and do not study well. These parents want to decide everything for their children early, such as studying and sleeping well. However, children are not programmed robots, they have a human spirit of exploration and rebellion. So, their academic performance may not meet the expectations of their parents. At that point, parents assume that external factors influence their children rather than their own parenting style being at fault. Parents then assume that external factors are influencing their children, rather than their own parenting style being at fault. They then blame video games and even ask the government to ban them legally. This conservative thinking is undoubtedly wrong because it is not actually video games that are causing their children to underachieve.

In contrast to the parents’ opinions, I don’t think the game will affect my studies. In fact, games have helped me learn a lot. First, cognitive ability is improved. In action shooting games, I have to concentrate very hard in order to hit the target. In a MOBA game, for example, we play a mental game to win the game to beat the other player. This exercise of cognitive ability has definitely helped me. The second is emotion; the reward and punishment mechanism in the game allows me to get a thrill that is hard to get in real life. The third is communication. Nowadays, most games require multiple players to cooperate, and communicating with my teammates allows me to improve my communication skills.

To summarize, games are not the “poison” that parents say they are, it is just their stereotype. On the other hand, games are far-reaching and helpful.

--

--