Haozhixu
CE Writ150
Published in
3 min readSep 24, 2022

--

The reason why I choose these five photos because they represent the city, Changzhou that I grow up. From these five photos we can see that Changzhou is a modern city that has a lot of skyscrapers but it also has the Chinese tradition atmosphere. For example, in the fourth and fifth photo, it has a lot of tall buildings and the splendid lights in the city. However, in the second and third picture, it demonstrates that my city also has the traditional Chinese atmosphere, such as the style of the building or the bridges. This is an unique type of building style in China called “Su style building”. The story that these five pictures want to convey is that following the passage of the time, Changzhou starts includes more modern style building as the picture shown and grow up to an international city, but it also still keeps its unique characteristics that is the memory for all people grow up in Changzhou. These five photos wholly demonstrate the modern characteristics and the ancient Chinese personalities for Changzhou.

· In order to understand the community with whom I am working with, the first thing I can do it trying to understand their student’s backgrounds

· The second thing that I can do is trying to stand in their positions to teach them the context in the English book.

My effort contributes to the community mainly through two ways but both of them are from teaching. The first thing that I did to contribute the community is understand the background of the students. Before coming into the classroom, I read the roster of the students and also got touch with their teachers to understand the family background of these students. Through talking with the teachers, I found out that most of the students in the classroom grow up in undesirable family. They are raised by their grandparents rather than their parents. Their parents are always away from their children in order to earn money to afford the whole family. Because of their poor economic situation, most students cannot afford the material outside the classroom. Therefore, when I was teaching the students, I always tried to use a very slow pace to guarantee each student understand what I was talking about. In addition, because of the different education background and English level, I always try to utilize the way that students can understand the content easily such as using pictures. I want my community to be better understood and being paid more attention by the society.

--

--