Finally, it’s finals

Kyra Gaskill
We are Cecil College
3 min readNov 18, 2016

The end of the semester at Cecil College has always been a hectic time for me. It is really close to the holidays, and just about every instructor assigns a thousand things to do. Let’s not even mention how anxious I get during finals week. However, this isn’t my only cause for worry. I have recently been trying to find my transfer school for when I graduate from Cecil in about a year. I know it may seem early, but according to my findings, most schools require you to submit an application semesters in advance.

During the past month, I have visited three schools to find the one with the right degree, atmosphere, and price for me. It has been really hard due to the fact that I love Cecil so much. I have struggled with the thought of having to leave a school I am fully comfortable being a part of. Regardless of my love for Cecil, I will eventually graduate and need a plan for when I do. I have narrowed my prospective schools down to only two, Stevenson University and Goldey-Beacom College, and have recently applied to both. This took a long time to do, and I anxiously wait for news back.

In addition to my search for a school, I have recently been a part of an open house at Cecil College for the first time. Since I am an ambassador, I worked the night as a tour guide. I had tons of fun, but it was also my first official time giving a tour. I was really excited to give a tour, and I had been looking forward to it all week. However, my excitement was met with a bit of fear when I realized I was going to stand in front of a group of people and speak all night long. To my surprise, I didn’t feel that bad when I started. Yeah, I was nervous when I started, but I gained in confidence until I was going through the whole thing without thinking about it. It turned out I didn’t just like giving tours, but love doing it. I was able to share what I love about Cecil with prospective students and hopefully inspired them enough to apply.

Now that the semester is almost over, I have been studying and writing like crazy for every class, and trying to keep my anxiety to a minimum. Anyone who is closest to me knows I tend to stress over the smallest of things. For this reason, I am working on getting ahead of my classwork, so I can take the week off during Thanksgiving break.

My excitement has been building since I know I will soon be spending Thanksgiving with my family, and shopping the sales. My family and I have an obsession with the holidays, and we typically spend the Thanksgiving break decorating for Christmas and setting up our tree. We are even going to see Christmas lights at Six Flags during the break.

--

--