Getting organized

Rachel Loomis
We are Cecil College
2 min readDec 16, 2016

School can be overwhelming, especially for a student balancing other things. I find keeping track of assignments is a key element in remaining organized throughout the year. Often at the beginning of a semester I don’t know where to begin with each of my classes. Setting aside time to write down due dates for every course is a technique that has helped me stay on top of my work.

The syllabi professors give out will, most of the time, have lists of important dates. The class syllabus will let you know when exams, quizzes and other projects are due. Syllabi for online classes are available on Blackboard with the same information. I find it easiest to print out a hard copy and keep all information in the same place.

I normally use a planner and a calendar to write every assignment before the semester starts. A planner is useful to organize daily classwork while a calendar offers a broad overview of the semester. I color code each due date by class as well. An overview lets me know when my busiest weeks will be and when I will have time to work ahead. It also gives me an idea of when to schedule events and how to balance other areas of my life with school.

--

--