I wanted more

Heather Hughes
We are Cecil College
2 min readJan 14, 2016

Hi, welcome to the student blog for Cecil College!

My name is Heather and I am a student at Cecil. I am beginning my fourth semester here. I am a non-traditional student and stay-at-home mom.

I am a mother of four with two sons and two daughters. My oldest daughter, Kaitlan, who will soon be 19, is a first-year student beginning her second semester here at Cecil. My oldest son, Cody, who is 16, is a junior in high school starting on his new journey studying Natural Resources at the Cecil County School of Technology. My youngest son, Noah, who is 14, is in eighth grade. My youngest daughter, Joliet, is 9 and is in fourth grade.

I was a full-time stay-at-home mom for 13 years. I had many jobs prior to being a SAHM and even attended Cecil after graduating from high school. I discovered that I really didn’t want to go to college straight out of high school; it just wasn’t for me at the time. But here I am, back and doing better than I ever would have imagined. I have made the college President’s list three semesters and am going to try my hardest to accomplish that achievement every semester hereafter.

Even though I am starting on my fourth semester, I am somewhat far from graduating. That is because I am a double major studying Professional Photography and Business Management with plans to transfer into the UMUC Business program to obtain a Bachelor’s degree. I try to fill my schedules with my general education requirements and balance at least one degree specific course each semester.

I decided to come back to college because I didn’t want to just settle for any job that I could get. I wanted more. If I am going to work, I at least want to enjoy going to work.

What is your story? Why are you here? What do you want to do?

--

--