Keep an open mind

Rachel Loomis
We are Cecil College
2 min readAug 2, 2017

At this stage in life, I’ve often felt that I should have it all together. I’ve believed if I choose one major or one path, then I have to stay with it forever. The thought of it being completely necessary to be sure of what I want for the rest of my life was drilled into my head by teachers throughout school as well as by other adults.

This just isn’t realistic. There was a point one semester where I was completely overwhelmed because I assumed I had to stay on the path I’d always been on. One day when I was particularly upset, my mom sat me down and gave me some of the most important advice I’ve ever received. She told me to remember life is full of constant change. There is so much unspoken pressure to be who we have always been. Nobody really tells young people that it’s OK for goals to grow and change. Deciding on a new path does not make your old endeavors failures.

At the age of 20, she told me, it is so important to try new things and to do what makes you happy. This advice really hit me hard. I don’t want to be 45 years old sitting behind a desk at a job I don’t like because I was afraid to take chances as a young person. I don’t want to live with any regrets.

Because of her advice, I realized I no longer wanted to major in English. I changed my focus from that path to communications. It also inspired me to chase my dream and apply to a school for cosmetology. I encourage everyone not to feel stuck in your choices. If something is no longer making you happy, take the steps you can to change it.

--

--