Some thoughts on transferring

Rachel Loomis
We are Cecil College
2 min readOct 5, 2017

The prospect of moving on from Cecil is stressful and I have recently been struggling to get prepared. There are so many unknowns that come with graduating and transferring schools. I believe I would have had an easier time getting organized for this important change if I had put more thought into it sooner. If you’re someone who, like me, has procrastinated thinking about the logistics of transferring colleges, now is the time to get prepared.

It was quite a shock to realize that deadlines for applications are approaching quickly. It is so imperative to be aware of these dates and to keep them in mind as you make decisions about your transfer. It is never too early to set your goals and plan the steps necessary to reach them. Lately, this has been hard for me to think about because change is something very overwhelming for me. I have avoided checking to see which of my credits transfer to different schools because making a final decision scares me.

It seems as if I have only been sabotaging myself by avoiding this. To anyone out there in the same boat, take this as your reminder to think about what you want after Cecil. There are college resources available to help students make decisions about transferring; for example, the Transfer Fair is coming up soon. You can also speak with your advisor if you have any questions.

--

--