Deena McKay

Founder & Host of Black Tech Unplugged

Women of Silicon Valley
33 Badass Black Womxn in Tech
2 min readFeb 20, 2018

--

Deena is the Founder and host of the podcast, Black Tech Unplugged. Black Tech Unplugged is a monthly podcast that highlights Black people who work and innovate within the tech industry. Additionally, Deena works as an Enterprise Architect at a financial institution.

What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

The constant need to prove myself. As a Black woman in tech, sometimes you have to go above and beyond to prove that you deserve to be heard. Being put in such situations has only taught me to get creative to ensure my voice is heard. Also, I’ve learned that no matter how hard I have to fight I have every right to make sure my voice is heard.

What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I’m very proud of starting Black Tech Unplugged. I was a little nervous starting a podcast and platform where the stories of Black people in tech would be heard. I was starting it by myself, but what keeps me going is the passion I have to share the stories of Black people who are in the tech industry and the impact that I have (and will continue to make.)

What’s something that’s been on your mind this Black History Month?

During this month I just enjoy sharing the knowledge and richness that Black culture has to offer. There are so many inventors and individuals that have made an impact to get the culture where it is today, and it’s nice that they are being recognized. Also, I keep in mind that my people are here, we are conquerors, and we thrive in all situations!

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
33 Badass Black Womxn in Tech

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.