Terri Burns

Principal at Google Ventures

Women of Silicon Valley
33 Badass Black Womxn in Tech
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

Terri is a Principal at GV (Google Ventures), working alongside the investing team with sourcing and deal flow. Prior to joining GV, Terri was a product manager at Twitter where she helped improve the home timeline. Terri is also an international speaker, covering topics related to how technology impacts various communities. In addition, Terri is a freelance writer, and regularly writes about technology, diversity, and inclusion, having been featured in publications like Forbes, Scientific American, and Teen Vogue. Formerly, she was a cohost of the Forbes podcast Well, Technically. Terri graduated with a computer science degree from NYU where she led Tech@NYU, NYC’s largest student technology organization.

Connect with Terri on her website, Instagram and Twitter.

1. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

A couple of months ago, I got very severe carpal tunnel in both my wrists. Not only could I no longer type on any devices, but certain everyday activities became a challenge for me. While I am still experiencing this disability, I’ve successfully been able to adjust my lifestyle in a way that will allow me to continue working while also healing and taking it easy when I need to. I’ve always gone a million miles an hour, and it’s been a challenge taking a step back and still feeling like I am doing what’s best for myself.

2. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

It might seem simple, but I am still really proud of myself for graduating with a degree in computer science. I found school to be extremely challenging, and there were some moments where I was not sure if I could do it. I highly value education and feel so lucky to have received an excellent one. And for that, I think I’ll take this pride with me for the rest of my life.

3. What’s something that’s been on your mind this Black History Month?

I’ve been thinking a lot about Black joy. So much of the discourse around the Black experience in both the past and present is about overcoming strife, but the Black experience is so much more than the amount of pain we are able to endure. So I’m thinking about (and seeking) Black joy this month!

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
33 Badass Black Womxn in Tech

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.