Terri Lomax

Blogger, Speaker, Brand Strategist, and Founder of the Mocha Girls Pit Stop blog

Women of Silicon Valley
33 Badass Black Womxn in Tech
3 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

Terri is a Blogger, Speaker, Brand Strategist, and founder of the Mocha Girls Pit Stop blog, which is where women of color refuel on motivation and ignite their lives. She was born and raised in Philadelphia and has worked at Yerdle, Facebook, and Asana.

Connect with Terri on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram.

  1. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

In 2012, I found myself in the midst of a quarter­ life crisis, but I didn’t understand why; I had followed the well­-intentioned advice every mentor, advisor, and school counselor gave me.

I went to school, I got good grades, I secured a good job; I even earned two degrees, but I still felt empty. I felt stagnant and aimless.

I knew there was more to life than just going to work everyday, paying back my student loans, just to wake up and start the rat race all over again! I needed more.

I wanted to share my mistakes and help other women of color live the bold, empowered lives they were meant to live. I wanted to be more than just an employee fulfilling a job that a million other people could do. For years, I had told myself that I would write a book… someday. But I lacked the confidence and follow-through to make it happen. I didn’t have the training, knowledge, or support I needed to overcome my self-doubt.

There came a point, though, when I couldn’t take it anymore. I wanted to be a voice of hope and inspiration. So I took a leap of faith and launched the Mocha Girls Pit Stop blog — a positive, uplifting space where other women of color could be real, raw, and vulnerable!

It tested my resolve. It threw me clear out of my comfort zone. And it forced me to persevere in the face of obstacles I’d never even considered. I truly believe that the reason I was able to find my way, is because I searched inward. Solitude gave me the stillness I needed to get clear on my interests, desires, and strengths and ultimately, I found my way because I never gave up.

2. What’s something you’ve done that you’re really proud of?

I pride myself on being a positive person but my life has always been a struggle. As an adult, I look back on my life, and it’s obvious that my parents did a great job of masking our adversity.

We moved around a lot, but I never knew it was because of financial woes, I thought it was normal. My mom would go away for long periods of time, and I never knew that she was in and out of prison; I thought she was on a modeling assignment or a business trip. Even when we were homeless and lived in a hotel for some time, I never knew we were struggling; despite what we went through we always had food on the table and clothes on our back.

With that said, my biggest accomplishment is allowing my adversity to make me better and not bitter. Despite what I’ve been through I never gave up and I did not let my past define my future.

3. What’s something that’s been on your mind this Black History Month?

June 1, 2018 will mark 97 years since the Black Wall Street Race Massacre. It boggles my mind that many Black people today have never heard of Black Wall Street. I too just learned about it a few years ago. This Black History Month, I’m reminded of our rich history and the importance of relearning Black history since it’s been hidden from our people for centuries.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
33 Badass Black Womxn in Tech

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.